Date Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I modified Peggy's recipe as follows: I used a mixture of whole wheat pastry flour and white bread flour (about 2 C WW, and 2-1/2 C WBr); I used brown, rather than white, sugar; I used three Tbs. of melted ghee, rather than margarine; and instead of vanilla extract, I cooked a split vanilla bean in the water before adding it to the dates (I used Medjool dates and walnuts). Since many of the reviewers seemed to think the 300 F baking temperature was inadequate, I baked the breads at 350--it took about an hour and twenty minutes before the tester came out clean. I think perhaps the vanilla bean was a bit too much--although I love the scent, it tends to overpower the dates, and so I may just use a teaspoon of extract next time. It came out not nearly as dense and heavy as I thought it might--mine seemed just about the right balance between moist and dry, and came out quite well leavened, like a banana bread. The one other thing I might try, next time, is using less sugar--the dates I used were already extremely sweet, and so I probably could have gotten away with only ONE cup of sugar, rather than two. As it is, I think the bread is just a little bit too sweet, but tomorrow I'll try it sliced, lightly toasted, and with a dab of cream cheese. On the whole, it worked out well, but I don't know what might have happened had I tried baking it at 300 until it was completely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Moist and flavorful. I made this for the holidays and it was a hit. Bake it at 350º so that the center cooks through, adding foil if necessary to keep the top from getting hard. It might take 10-15 minutes longer but it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This recipe is a family favorite. Will make 5 mini-loaves. In the tradition of the Louisville Boat Club ladies luncheon, serve with cream cheese or Benedictine spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
My father in law asked for Date Nut Bread last Thanksgiving. It was something his mom had made for him when he was a kid and he always loved it. It's been years since he has had it and this was the closest thing he's had to his mom's. He loved it. And so did every one who tried it. Thanks so much for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Excellant! I couldn't have found a better recipe! I bought 3 loaf pans at the $ store and it made 3 nice loafs! I like mine with cream cheese, bravo Peggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie9035

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This recipe made a really wonderful -- and yes, dense -- date nut bread. It took 1-1/4 hours to cook at 300 degrees in my oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This recipe is very much like my grandmother's, but you should add to the recipe that you have to add the water that the dates are soaking in. Her recipe had you adding the water a little at a time when you added the flour. She also baked the bread in clean vegetable cans she saved to make mini loaves for gift giving. I use mini loaf pans instead. I also pair up the bread with a small container of home-made honey butter to make a great sweet treat gift! My friends and family love it! If you want, you can also include a small chees spread knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I use whole wheat flour. Not a very moist bread, but it's still rather addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I found the loaf a little too dense. I would say add a banana or perhaps 1/2 cup of apple sauce to give it a lighter texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Fortunately, I read the reviews before baking. Changed to dates AND water, as well the temp and bake time. (350 degrees for 1 hr and 15 min., tenting with foil) Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States