Date Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Love this recipe. Adding a half cup of sliced maraschino cherries even makes it better. Our old family recipes uses less sugar and tastes great. Make sure you alternate the date water with the flour when adding the flour. Using hot coffee instead of the hot water is also quite good as a variation. We also bake it in clean cans lined with wax paper that is greased and floured. The wax paper makes removal easy. Depending on the size of the cans you'll need about 4 cans. The old Campbell soup cans use to be the perfect size, but they are smaller now. The round shapes make attractive slices. While eating a slice plain is very good, I think you might find slathering cream cheese on a slice is even better than butter. Really, really a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
its a great bread...but i think it needs to be made in three loaf pans not two(which made a giant mess in my oven) and it needs to bake longer then an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdwashere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
4 1/2 cups of flour? Are you serious? I couldn't even taste the dates. I think there are some typos in this recipe, and the steps are not clear at all. Do not try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
i love dates and nuts, but i didn't like this recipe...will search for more recipes. came out quite dry and not a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Delicious. The centers on mine caved in, but it could be because I filled them to full. I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This bread is very good. I made it into a bundt cake and baked it an extra 20 min at 300 in a gas oven. I also had fresh dates to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Recently retired, I've begun baking again. I've always loved date nut bread and sifted through many recipes. This one is by far the best. Although I've made some variations, I really do like the original recipe best. It does seem to require a longer baking time and my experience is to keep the temperature the same and let it cook longer. Increasing the temp seems to take out some of the moisture. This bread rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Excellent breakfast bread. Both dense and moist. I could perhaps add a few more dates but I would say that about any baked good containing fruit. Only changes I made were to use half boiling water and half french vanilla coffee and butter rather than margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Here's the good: This "bread" has a good solid texture which makes it perfect for dunking. It's also relatively easy to make. I baked it for an hour at 350 deg. and it wasn't done. I then turned down the oven to 300 deg. for 10 more minutes. Now the bad: This bread has absolutely no flavor. I kind of suspected it wouldn't since the recipe didn't call for any spices. The batter was gloopy and tasteless also. I would suggest adding some cinnamon and nutmeg to give it some flavor, although I won't be making it again. I even put a coating of apple butter on my slices, and that didn't help it. It is very bland tasting, like hospital food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Next time I will try brown sugar and whole wheat flour, as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States