Date Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Great just made a few changes too make it more like my Bubbies (Grandmother) water to strong Black Coffee, Sugar to 1/2 white Splender 1/2 brown splender, Baked in round cans just like Bubbies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is now my "Go-to" recipe for Date Nut Bread. It is moist, dense & so flavorful. The loaves baked beautifully, making perfect little loaves with a nice dome. The loaves were firm and sliced nicely even while still warm. I was going to add my rating yesterday after I had my first taste, but I'm glad I waited a day. Although the bread is very good fresh from the oven, it is even better waiting until the next day to eat it. Yesterday I thought maybe it needed something - cinnamon? Nutmeg? But, today, I have second thoughts. It doesn't need a thing - It is that good. I made one large loaf and two mini loaves. 35 minutes baking time @350 degrees was perfect for the mini loaves and 70 minutes was perfect for the large loaf, covering it with foil during the last 30 minutes. My only complaint is the recipe should be revised to direct adding the soda water that the dates have been soaking in. I had originally copied the recipe down on a card and when it came to assembling the ingredients, I had to go back to the computer to find the recipe to see what to do about the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterfoot, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I made this today but didnt have any baking soda or butter.so what i did was soak dates in hot water and added 3 tbsp of baking powder and i used crisco instead of themargarine.it turned out really good.i baked it at 350 f for 1hr and 10 min.thx for this good recipe.i added the baking powder with the flour and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Made it yesterday very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hornybull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anita Maemone
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Just pulled my breads out of the oven and WOW! They are beautiful and a perfect Mother's Day gift for my Mother-in-Law. I baked the breads at 350 and covered them with foil about 40 minutes into the baking. I had to bake them 70 minutes total. I can't help but think they are going to taste delicious; they smell sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Made this three times, never fails my memories from my moms kitchen . We enjoy it with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Awesome recipe! It gets great reviews every time I serve it. Want a twist? Add a 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. allspice for a great winter-time treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
A very good recipe. I just made it. Put some cream cheese on it and ate some, but the aroma was wonderful. I knew it was going to be great. I baked it a tad longer than I should. Freezing it will make it come out with more moisture. It is not burned, but next time I will put the timer on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I absolutely love a good date nut bread, but this just didn't make it. I didn't think it was dense enough, nor did I pick up a strong date flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ibbotson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Tastes WONDERFUL. It has a great flavor, and is perfect for breakfast. I also did what the other reviewers were saying, bake at 350, then cover with tin foil for 15 minutes. It turns out perfectly! I love making this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States