Date Flecked Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
These are really, really good! I cut the cloves and ginger down to 1/2 tsp each, other than that I followed the recipe. I love the orange taste, and that they are not overly sweet. The house smells wonderful while these are baking too! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by CANADA_COOKIN
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
What a fun twist! I loved blending up the wet ingredients with my immersion blender. I followed this recipe closely, only replacing a small portion of the flour with whole wheat. Still, I had to decrease the temp to 375F half way through and still had some blackened bottoms. The spices were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Great recipe. I modified it slightly by using 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of white, used 1 cup of white flour and 3/4 cup of whole wheat stone-ground flour instead of just white flour. Also, I did not have dates so I used figs instead and it worked wonderfully. Thank you for the recipe, this one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Love the combination of orange and dates. A bit too sweet for us but it is easy to cut back on sugar for individual tastes. Do suggest that butter is used (and at room temperature) because that is where you get the wonderful flavor. Also find that 1 tsp. baking powder and 1/2 tsp. of baking soda works well. Sometimes you can taste baking soda and it takes away from the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Very good. I used only 1/2 cup of sugar, and reduced the cloves to 1/4 tsp and the ginger to 1/2 tsp. They were plenty sweet and browned well with the reduced sugar. Next time I may reduce the ginger a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
too much spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
These were great! I'm going to wait to see how they are tomorrow, but right out of the oven the ginger and cloves were just a tiny bit too much (and I love cloves...). Only changes were to replace 3/4 cup of the flour with whole wheat, and I forgot to blend in the butter so I melted it and whisked it in before adding the dry ingredients. Love the orange and date combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I adapted this recipe by adding more dates (dates are very sweet naturally), less sugar (1/4 cup) and by replacing the butter with a banana! Much healthier but still very sweet and tasty! Loved it! I would definitly make that recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raph_2122

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very tasty! Next time I will decrease the ginger and cloves as one baker recommended. Otherwise, my only comment is that the dough was very thick compared to other muffin recipes, but in the end, they turned out great - even separating from the paper muffin cups once cooled. Also, I replaced the egg with a 'flaxseed egg' (two parts warm water, one part ground flax seeds, blended with the rest of the blended items). Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Really yummy! I added a cup of fresh cranberries and they turned out amazing! The second time I made them I added a tbsp of pumpkin puree along with the cranberries and again they tasted great (although the pumpkin & the orange turned them slightly green!) A really great recipe that I'll be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States