Date Filled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ward'sgirl
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Yummy! I read the reviews and tweaked a bit. I added cinnamon and an egg and cut back the flour to 1 cup. They were nice and moist. I filled up the cookies as hubby loves dates. I also added lemon juice to the date mixture while it was cooking. Definitely a keeper in my recipe box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ward'sgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This recipe was a blast from the past for me, when I was little my mom made these cookies, with just a little twist; She cut the cookies out with half of them having a timble hole for the tops, then when the cookies were cool she would fill them with the date mixture. When I came to mix the cookies, I had to add 4 more tablespoons of water to make them moist enough to stick together. I gave these cookies for part of my Christmas presents this year, they went over GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
These were really good. The dough was a little difficult to roll, probably because of the oats. I used rasins instead of dates. I doubled the recipe of both the filling and the dough. I filled the cookies FULL with the raisins, and the ratio of dough to filling was perfect! Maybe others were skimpy with the filling, or maybe dates fill the cookie differently! No matter....these were great....thanks Gordon! Oh...I also added a little cinnamon to my raisin mixture...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Fantastic cookies although they are somewhat labor-intensive. Try adding an egg then you won't need to add the extra tablespoons of water at the end. That makes them a little lighter and the dough easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Excellent recipe! The cookie dough is so flavorful and combines really well with the sweet date compote. I think I made mine really big, but that let me put a lot of filling in each - which turned out super. Mmm. I will make these again. The only thing I changed is that I added some cinnamon and some lemon juice to the dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Little date filled delights! Once i finally rolled the dough thin enough the cookies turned out amazing! although when the dough was thicker they turned out like tiny little biscuits which were kindof good too. try to use all of the filling it really makes a wonderful cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Oh these are good! and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Amazing! My first time baking with dates and it turned out great. I love this recipe and will definitely be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
I remember my grandmother making these when I was a child. They rolled fine for me once I added the extra water recomended, but you do get a bit extra filling. A *GREAT* addition to this that grandma used to do is to frost the top cookie with a lightly peppermint flavored frosting. Sounds odd maybe but it's a great flavor addition to the date and oatmeal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This recipe is a good one, however, the dough was a bit stiff so I added some ingredients that my grandmothers rolled, filled, cookie recipe has. It has made them much easier to handle with a little crunch around the edges and I used mincemeat instead of dates. Sour cream makes a rich, moist delicious cookie. Also try using the same amount of flour instead of the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States