Date Filled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Little date filled delights! Once i finally rolled the dough thin enough the cookies turned out amazing! although when the dough was thicker they turned out like tiny little biscuits which were kindof good too. try to use all of the filling it really makes a wonderful cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Amazing! My first time baking with dates and it turned out great. I love this recipe and will definitely be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This recipe was a blast from the past for me, when I was little my mom made these cookies, with just a little twist; She cut the cookies out with half of them having a timble hole for the tops, then when the cookies were cool she would fill them with the date mixture. When I came to mix the cookies, I had to add 4 more tablespoons of water to make them moist enough to stick together. I gave these cookies for part of my Christmas presents this year, they went over GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Oh these are good! and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
These were really good. The dough was a little difficult to roll, probably because of the oats. I used rasins instead of dates. I doubled the recipe of both the filling and the dough. I filled the cookies FULL with the raisins, and the ratio of dough to filling was perfect! Maybe others were skimpy with the filling, or maybe dates fill the cookie differently! No matter....these were great....thanks Gordon! Oh...I also added a little cinnamon to my raisin mixture...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Fantastic cookies although they are somewhat labor-intensive. Try adding an egg then you won't need to add the extra tablespoons of water at the end. That makes them a little lighter and the dough easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Excellent recipe! The cookie dough is so flavorful and combines really well with the sweet date compote. I think I made mine really big, but that let me put a lot of filling in each - which turned out super. Mmm. I will make these again. The only thing I changed is that I added some cinnamon and some lemon juice to the dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Yum. I think next time I'll add a bit of cinnamon to the dough and then roll out the dough and slice into squares in order to be more efficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
I remember my grandmother making these when I was a child. They rolled fine for me once I added the extra water recomended, but you do get a bit extra filling. A *GREAT* addition to this that grandma used to do is to frost the top cookie with a lightly peppermint flavored frosting. Sounds odd maybe but it's a great flavor addition to the date and oatmeal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
My family loved these cookies. I however, wasn't prepared for the work they took to make. I'm still very much an amateur with baking. They tasted great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States