Date Filled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
I made these to share at Christmas. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
These are great...but I had to much date filling leftover, I would reccomend doubling the cookie dough next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
I could not get the dough to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
I remember my grandmother making these when I was a child. They rolled fine for me once I added the extra water recomended, but you do get a bit extra filling. A *GREAT* addition to this that grandma used to do is to frost the top cookie with a lightly peppermint flavored frosting. Sounds odd maybe but it's a great flavor addition to the date and oatmeal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This recipe was a blast from the past for me, when I was little my mom made these cookies, with just a little twist; She cut the cookies out with half of them having a timble hole for the tops, then when the cookies were cool she would fill them with the date mixture. When I came to mix the cookies, I had to add 4 more tablespoons of water to make them moist enough to stick together. I gave these cookies for part of my Christmas presents this year, they went over GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
These were really good. The dough was a little difficult to roll, probably because of the oats. I used rasins instead of dates. I doubled the recipe of both the filling and the dough. I filled the cookies FULL with the raisins, and the ratio of dough to filling was perfect! Maybe others were skimpy with the filling, or maybe dates fill the cookie differently! No matter....these were great....thanks Gordon! Oh...I also added a little cinnamon to my raisin mixture...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Fantastic cookies although they are somewhat labor-intensive. Try adding an egg then you won't need to add the extra tablespoons of water at the end. That makes them a little lighter and the dough easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
For me, these cookies were just O.K., but my family and co-workers really liked them. The filling was good, but the cookie itself seemed to be missing something. They were a little time consuming to make, and I also had plenty of filling leftover. Not sure if I will make these again or try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I don't know what happened, but they were just okay. I followed the recipe to a T. I'd play around with it next time and try to tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little.mrs.h

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Excellent recipe! The cookie dough is so flavorful and combines really well with the sweet date compote. I think I made mine really big, but that let me put a lot of filling in each - which turned out super. Mmm. I will make these again. The only thing I changed is that I added some cinnamon and some lemon juice to the dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States