Date Filled Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
These cookies are SO good! I wish I could give them 10 stars. And not too hard to make! A spatula works best for spreading the layers. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This is the best recipe for Date Bars I've ever tried - and I've tasted many. Worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
FINALLY A DATE NUT BAR LIKE THE ONES MY MOTHER USED TO MAKE. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE. I HAVE SEARCHED FOR YEARS TRYING TO FIND THIS TYPE DATE NUT BAR - JUST LIKE THE BAKERY MAKES THEM!!! GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used the recipe for the filling only and made hamantaschen. Excellent! Delicious and the cookies baked up quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I remember making ones like this from a box,those were not even close, these are so much better!! Tried choc chips on one side my wife loves me now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
These are fantastic! A hit with everyone in my house, even my three-year-old daughter. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
These were easy to make as the instructions were easy to follow. The cookie part was very tasty and had a nice texture - buttery, crunchy b/c of the walnuts and kind of roasted and chewy because of the oatmeal. I only made one change and that was to add 1 teaspoon of ground cardamom along w/ the 1 tsp cinnamon. The date filling had a nice texture. I had never had date bars and was actually skeptical of the recipe but I ended up really liking them. Oh, and the lemon and orange zest really adds a great flavor. Everyone who tried them loved them, and most of them said that it was not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Baked this evening! Excellent reward for the 1st attempt. I did not have walnuts but it is delicious as is. My neighbor stopped by and loved the date bars too. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
The easiest way to put on the top layer is to crumble it over the top in two passes. Then gently pat together. This is exactly the recipe that I was looking for. Delicious. My husband is making friends in our high rise giving samples out to the neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Clearly the photo does not go with the directions. However, I made a couple of stylistic changes to accommodate family members' taste bud issues. Pulverized oats in blender to be coarse flour. No nuts were on hand, so I did without them. Instead of dates, I made an apple-carmel filling (had apples passed their prime). And WAALAA. Wonderful taste/texture. And the family didn't even realize there were oats in the cookies. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States