Date Filled Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Clearly the photo does not go with the directions. However, I made a couple of stylistic changes to accommodate family members' taste bud issues. Pulverized oats in blender to be coarse flour. No nuts were on hand, so I did without them. Instead of dates, I made an apple-carmel filling (had apples passed their prime). And WAALAA. Wonderful taste/texture. And the family didn't even realize there were oats in the cookies. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used the recipe for the filling only and made hamantaschen. Excellent! Delicious and the cookies baked up quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
The easiest way to put on the top layer is to crumble it over the top in two passes. Then gently pat together. This is exactly the recipe that I was looking for. Delicious. My husband is making friends in our high rise giving samples out to the neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Baked this evening! Excellent reward for the 1st attempt. I did not have walnuts but it is delicious as is. My neighbor stopped by and loved the date bars too. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
These were easy to make as the instructions were easy to follow. The cookie part was very tasty and had a nice texture - buttery, crunchy b/c of the walnuts and kind of roasted and chewy because of the oatmeal. I only made one change and that was to add 1 teaspoon of ground cardamom along w/ the 1 tsp cinnamon. The date filling had a nice texture. I had never had date bars and was actually skeptical of the recipe but I ended up really liking them. Oh, and the lemon and orange zest really adds a great flavor. Everyone who tried them loved them, and most of them said that it was not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
my oven might be off, but they needed another 12-15 minutes of cooking time.... I noticed there is no egg, and that may be why...all in all happy to have another recipe easily converted to a gluten-free dessert...I subbed the flour, combined rice, almond and gluten free flour....I always add a TBL of molasses to remove the aftertaste of the sourghum---it works every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I remember making ones like this from a box,those were not even close, these are so much better!! Tried choc chips on one side my wife loves me now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I wanted something special to serve at Bunco. The ladies like sweet and gooey, I wanted healthy. Got both in this recipe. I added orange juice instead of water to date mixture. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South San Francisco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
These are fantastic! A hit with everyone in my house, even my three-year-old daughter. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MexicoKaren
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I have used this recipe many times, and it is my husband's favorite. Two tips: use less dates, two cups at most, or they are too rich. Also, toast your walnuts before chopping them for the crust. The combo of toasted walnuts, butter, dates - SO good, and very similar to those my mom used to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States