Date Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2001
These are exactly what they say, nice and chewy. my Dates were a bit dry so i chopped them and heated through on the stove with a few tsp water just to soften them a bit. definately would make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
These cookies were so delicious! I found them to be more delicate than chewy, but definitely soft. My cookies were probably about 1 tbls. drops and I had to bake them more like 13 than 8-10. I'm going to try the other reviewers suggestion of cardamom and almonds that sounds really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
These are good but due to food allergies and pantry deficiencies I had to change things up just a bit. I used crushed flaked rice cereal in place of the nuts...it worked. My cloves were whole, so I had to crush them ... that worked, too. I did bake 12 minutes after chilling batter flattened in freezer for 15 min. I just couldn't wait the full hour & a half chill time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I followed the recipe's original "36 portion" measurements -- and I got 61 cookies out of it. I increased baking time to 12 minutes because I have silver reflective cookie sheets. The came out with an excellent texture all over, and through the cookie. The moisture level is perfect, and the use of the clove and cinnamon gave a discrete flavour of a molasses or a spice cookie -- but with a lighter batter instead of dark. The bits of dates, if chopped to proper size, offers a wonderful burst of extra moist chewiness through the cookie. I was extremely pleased with this recipe, and may try out the same excellent batter with other types of fruits such as chopped cherries or perhaps sultanas or figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
i really enjoyed this cookie. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENM0418

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I didn't have dates, so I used raisins and oh my, they are so good. Even the next day they were just as soft and chewy. They didn't make it till the 3rd day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
My "picky" kid liked these cookies. I chilled for a hour turned out okay for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
If you love dates, you'll love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Followed recipe, except forgot to add the pecans. Didn't miss them. Left dough overnight. Rolled it into balls the size of a medium walnut. Baked for 1o minutes. Made 6 dozen delicious, moist, delicately spiced cookies. The only cookie that was a little underdone was the last one that was a little bigger than the rest, because I wanted to use up the dough. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Made them exactly as written. I baked them for 12 minutes though. Rolled them about the size of a little meatball. It made about 60 cookies! Tastes like a soft biscotti. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States