Date Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2001
These are exactly what they say, nice and chewy. my Dates were a bit dry so i chopped them and heated through on the stove with a few tsp water just to soften them a bit. definately would make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
These cookies were very good. They are more of an "adult" cookie than a "kid" cookie. I recommend leaving them in the oven for a full 10 minutes and following the recipe instructions of letting them cool on the cookie sheets for five minutes. This way, they will be slightly crisp on the outside to contrast with the soft inside. I tried the first batch for 8 minutes (plus 5 minutes cooling time on the sheet) and they were undercooked...and mine were kind of small. I got 8 dozen from the recipe. Next time, I will substitute the cinnamon for cardamon and use almonds (instead of walnuts..didn't have pecans). Spiced that way, it should make an excellent cookie to serve with Arabic coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I followed the recipe's original "36 portion" measurements -- and I got 61 cookies out of it. I increased baking time to 12 minutes because I have silver reflective cookie sheets. The came out with an excellent texture all over, and through the cookie. The moisture level is perfect, and the use of the clove and cinnamon gave a discrete flavour of a molasses or a spice cookie -- but with a lighter batter instead of dark. The bits of dates, if chopped to proper size, offers a wonderful burst of extra moist chewiness through the cookie. I was extremely pleased with this recipe, and may try out the same excellent batter with other types of fruits such as chopped cherries or perhaps sultanas or figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
These cookies were so delicious! I found them to be more delicate than chewy, but definitely soft. My cookies were probably about 1 tbls. drops and I had to bake them more like 13 than 8-10. I'm going to try the other reviewers suggestion of cardamom and almonds that sounds really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I used half white and half brown sugar. I increased the spices a bit. I found that these were a bit dry but very tasty. They kept very well not like some cake recipes that tend to stick together as they are too moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
i really enjoyed this cookie. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENM0418

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
These are good but due to food allergies and pantry deficiencies I had to change things up just a bit. I used crushed flaked rice cereal in place of the nuts...it worked. My cloves were whole, so I had to crush them ... that worked, too. I did bake 12 minutes after chilling batter flattened in freezer for 15 min. I just couldn't wait the full hour & a half chill time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
My "picky" kid liked these cookies. I chilled for a hour turned out okay for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Even after baking an additional 5 minutes, these were undone inside and not nearly sweet enough. Let dough come to room temperature, rolled them in cinnamon-sugar and flattened them for next batch which got them done but nobody in the house liked them still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BruceandKaren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
If you love dates, you'll love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States