Date Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
Very moist,good flavor. Wonderful topping. Good old fashioned cake like my mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Corinne B.
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was a splendid cake. My picture (1 of 1) proves that we couldn't wait for a photo op to eat it. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and would make no changes. It was moist and delicious. I will be taking the recipe to Australia to make it for my Mum-in Law. Many thanks for posting it Laurel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Goodwood, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
its very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Ok, I made quite a few adjustments (sorry!!!), but it was a delicious cake, and I am sure it would be amazing as written as well. I used 2 cups chopped dates and a half cup raisins. I boiled the fruit in 3/4 cup water and 3/4 cup orange juice with some cinnamon. When I added the baking soda it had a mini lava effect like a science fair project (I didn't think about the acid from the orange juice and baking soda, oops), but not enough to be a mess, and it didn't ruin the flavor. I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and I also added nuts to the cake. I messed up the topping the first time I made it (adding the cream to the hot butter wasn't pretty) so I just did a topping of butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Anyway, my whole family loved this recipe. They said they would buy it in a coffee shop. I didn't think it was that pretty, so if I made it for company I would increase the recipe and make it in a bundt pan, or slice it like a loaf cake and serve with sauce and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This cake is so easy to make and tastes great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is OUTSTANDING. Fun to make with kids, too! I made the recipe as directed except that I didn't have cream on hand, so our topping was made with milk instead. It was delicious! The topping was starting to burn under my broiler after 1 1/2 minutes so watch it carefully. Did I mention how good this is?? It would be great with some spiced whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is the best coffee cake I've ever had. It's very moist. Instead of the topping I used sour cream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Wonderful recipe! Followed it exactly and it came out beautifully moist and rich, but not overpowering (I was afraid it would be too sweet!). Was a big hit with the family and a HUGE hit with the colleagues :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My original username was LAUREL1 and this is my recipe that I posted in 2001. The orginal recipe comes from the Ukrainian Church Ladies of Holden, Alberta, Canada cookbook of my mother's when I was a little girl. It was and still is my favourite coffee cake. The original recipe calls for 1/2 cup of raisins, not 1-1/2 cups. Thank you, Corinne, for the photo. I'm tickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Great recipie. Very easy and effective. Am fussy baker and this is very pleasant surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States