Date Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Excellent! Made exactly as written. Next time I may add 1/2 cup chopped walnuts in date mixture after cooking it. Loved the spice in the mix. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monclova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I came here to get a recipe for what we know as Date Squares (didn't realize it was a Canadian thing!). I do have a tried & true recipe but I was too lazy to dig it out. I have made it enough times to remember that this crust was the ingredients I liked. Some pointers from a Canadian: I always find the filling too sweet in these recipes. What I am used to is just the dates and the water(reduce to half a cup) and LEMON JUICE (extract is the best). This makes the date flavour smooth. Cook on the stove & mash with a fork until it becomes a paste. I like to use an 11 x 7 pan, spraying it with PAM. Use 3/5 of the crumb mix for the base and press it down tightly. I don't put it up the sides because the PAM prevents sticking and I get nicer squares.The date filling I take small scoops with the fork and start in corners to flatten it, then the middle, and use the remaining to fill it it. This prevents the bottom from coming up when you are trying to spread it. For the top I usually use my hand to crumble it evenly over the top, then press down firmly. When I take it out of the oven I quickly cut it (4 squares across & 6 down the top) and let it cool in the pan. Then when you are ready to serve them you recut. Freeze beautifully(however, I never seem to have enough left to freeze). Just some tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Very good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
These were good, but not fabulous. The main reason is that we felt there was too much crust in proportion to the date filling. I even upped the chopped dates to 2 full cups instead of 1-1/2 and still felt the crust overwhelmed the filling. Perhaps tinkering with the crust ingredients by calculating with a couple fewer servings, while adding a couple of servings to the filling might work. Tasty, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
A patient brought me dates, and I had no idea how to use them. I found this recipe and my family and coworkers all LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksujessi19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Yummy! Re: Donna's review - 1/4 cup brown sugar in the filling, 1/2 cup in the crust. If you read the directions, it's very clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
These were a huge hit at work! The only change I made was substituting the spices with equal amount of pumpkin spice, and using about 8 Tbsp of water instead of 2 Tbsp to hold better. Absolutely delicious; can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy X

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
My family loved these bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
YUMMY, I REMEMBER DATE BARS AS A KID AND THEY WE NOT GOOD, THIS RECIPE HOWEVER IS WONDERFUL EVEN MY KIDS LIKE THEM, I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE EXACTLY EXCEPT I LEFT OUT THE ORANGE ZEST, AND I DID NOT HAVE LEMON JUICE SO I USED 1 1/2 TBS OF FRESH SQUEEZED ORANGE JUICE THEY ARE FANTASTIC. THANK YOU A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States