Date Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
These were really good. I admit they were very sweet, but still tasty. For some reason I had bought a large bag of dates that were in the freezer. I found this recipe and it worked great. Only tweak I made was using 2 tablespoons of fresh squeezed oj for the rind and subbed apple pie spice for cloves and allspice. I would recommend to save time to small chop dates in a high speed blender or food processor. I baked mine on the bottom rack and lightly greased it with PAM spray. It took 30 minutes. I cut it into the 20 servings suggested and the bars are not much bigger than 2x2. Fine for breakfast or lunch size. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this recipe as written and everyone loved it. Brought them into work for a 'cook-off' and my contribution was the first to be gobbled up. I spread the 'crust' on the bottom and top as thin as possible and as a result did not use all the topping mixture. I will double the date mixture to increase the ratio of dates to topping when I make again for Christmas. But as written it is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I followed directions completely. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I brought these as a treat to work and they were very popular. I love clove but even I would probally cut it back a bit and I used fresh orange juice instead of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This turns out with that feel from the 1950's. It was especially liked by all. Serving this was a surprise to everyone, they expected the date bread all mixed together. This is a classic and IMPRESSES whenever I have made it. Tammy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greenwood Village, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Every time I've made and served these to friends they've raved over the spicy date filling. I do add about 1/3 cup chopped walnuts to the reserved crumb topping. What a delicious treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was a simple and delicious recipe. The subtle spiced flavour is so yummy along with the hint of orange zest! We are a vegan family, so I substituted the butter with vegan margarine (Earth Balance) and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I followed the recipe as written. The flavor is quite nice and I especially like the orange undertones. I was hoping for a crunchier texture which I think could be achieved by adding finely chopped walnuts to the filling. I used my food processor to mix the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
It was ok. Looking for a reasonable recipe to duplicate the box mix from years ago. This ain't it. Hard to review when your mouth is set for one taste and your cooking results in something different. Rest of family liked it. Cloves/allspice seemed to overpower everything. May give this a few tries with some changes. If I conjur up something, will post back with url to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dadeville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Just made the Date Bars and found it a keeper. :-) Lucy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moe, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States