Date Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
To those reviewers who had problems with the proportions I can tell you that I've been baking a similar recipe for years that calls for baking the bars in a 9x13" pan. My filling calls for 1 lb dates, 2/3c. brown sugar, 2/3c. orange juice, 1tsp vanilla extract & 1Tbs lemon juice. I also puree the filling in the processor. The oatmeal mixture calls for 1 1/2c rolled oats, 1 1/2c flour, 1c brown sugar, 1/2tsp baking soda & 2 sticks butter.Pat half of mixture in a greased 9x13"pan, spread with filling and top with remaining oatmeal mixture. It's important to press this top mixture slightly into the filling before baking. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes. Don't give up because this is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
My husband is from Canada where date bars are a staple, and he loved this. I cut the flour to 1 1/2 cups, used butter vs. shortening, and used a 9x13 pan. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
These bars are awesome! The only problem is that they don't last long in the house. These bars are quite fattening so I tried using half the amount of shortening by substituting applesauce in its place and they were still just as awesome! I might try eliminating the shortening altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This recipe seems to have a lot of issues going on as I noticed by the reviews. But I just halved the recipe to use up some dates and it went fairly well. Next time I would use more dates in order to make more filling, and probably would of followed more of the review suggestions in order to made the topping/crust more cohesive. All-in-all it was yummy, though crumbly as other people have noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
I made this at the request of my father for Christmas and they came out great!! I pretty much followed the directions except I used butter instead of shortening and I omitted a half cup of flour because I was concerned about the past reviews of the bars being too crumbly..but they came out great!!I also used a 9x13 pan, which was perfect..there would have been WAY too much for a 9x9 pan. My dad hasn't tasted them yet, but I hope he enjoys them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These are excellent! Just like my grandmother used to make. I didn't change a thing and will use this recipe as my only date bar recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I have been using this recipe for a couple of years now. It is so darn delicious. I have over time though, adjusted the amounts of some of the ingredients. I double the date filling and I use about an extra 1/2 cup of shortening for the oats so that it's not as dry. It's so much like date crisp. Excellent with traditional vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachanee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I was trying desperately to get rid of some leftover dates from a fruit basket, and this recipe worked nicely! The crust mixture was rather crumbly, but the crumbles tasted so good that I used them as a pudding topping. I don't think it would hold up well for cookie baskets and such, though. The only alteration I made was to use butter-flavored shortening. I will definitely make this tasty recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Terrific!! My "I hate dates family" went nuts. Currently baking 2nd batch in 1 wk. Full recipe use a 9x13. Half recipe 8x8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This bar was soooo dry that when you cut it all that came out of the pan was the date filling. All of the oatmeal mixture just fell away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States