Date Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
the recipe should call out for quick cooked oats not rolled oats. To much flour, and to much oats, made to much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
There's nothing crunchy about the oatmeal layers on this cookie. It's doughy and floury and yucky. I measured both the flour and oatmeal in scant measurements and added about 2 tbsp extra butter because of previous reviews. But it came out dry and very crumbly anyway. Not good. Not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I have been using this recipe for a couple of years now. It is so darn delicious. I have over time though, adjusted the amounts of some of the ingredients. I double the date filling and I use about an extra 1/2 cup of shortening for the oats so that it's not as dry. It's so much like date crisp. Excellent with traditional vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachanee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I used the modified recipe posted by SHOOGA and it was undoubtedly the best bar cookie recipe ever = I used DOLE orange/strawberry/banana juice instead of regular orange juice and added cinnamon to the cookie base. I also plan to experiment w/using some different "rehydrated" dried fruits in place of half the dates, also different juice blends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I was trying desperately to get rid of some leftover dates from a fruit basket, and this recipe worked nicely! The crust mixture was rather crumbly, but the crumbles tasted so good that I used them as a pudding topping. I don't think it would hold up well for cookie baskets and such, though. The only alteration I made was to use butter-flavored shortening. I will definitely make this tasty recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I was really disappointed with this recipe. They didn't really seem cooked even though I left them in way longer than directed. I guess I thought cooking them would reduce the crumbling and somehow bind it all together, but the oatmeal crust was VERY crumbley. I would say you could half the amt of the mixter used to make the crust. Even so, I don't think they would have turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Nagle Kean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I tried a very similar recipe from another Website, and was so disappointed with the results .... I found this recipe, read the reviews, and followed Shooga's suggestions for adjusting ingredients and pan size. My husband wanted date-nut bars, so I also cut back a little on the oats and added some finely chopped walnuts. The family really enjoyed the adjusted recipe at Christmas. The bars are a bit sweet for my taste; I might use less sugar in the filling next time. Thank you, Shooga, for some really good advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I used less flour and oats but I still didn't achieve the consistency I was looking for. Still a good recipe and satisfied my date square craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
Very good recipe. I did read the reviews before making this recipe, and as a result I made the following changes: added a tablespoon of lemon juice to the date mixture and pureed the date mixture. I also used a 9 x 13 inch pan. The result was great, and my husband loved them, which is ALWAYS my true test of a winning recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Terrific!! My "I hate dates family" went nuts. Currently baking 2nd batch in 1 wk. Full recipe use a 9x13. Half recipe 8x8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States