Date Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
Very good recipe. I did read the reviews before making this recipe, and as a result I made the following changes: added a tablespoon of lemon juice to the date mixture and pureed the date mixture. I also used a 9 x 13 inch pan. The result was great, and my husband loved them, which is ALWAYS my true test of a winning recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
This is my family's all-time favorite date recipe. I was delighted to find it online! (Especiallyl since I promised it to my family this morning and couldn't find my cookie cookbook when I got home. Thank you Allrecipe.com for saving me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
Excellent recipe!! Everyone who has tried these date bars, loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
these date bars were the sit down and eat the whole pan good I loved them! they are better than the betty crocker in the box mix you have got to try these.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Absolutely delicious...this one will be a winner in my Christmas Gift Boxes this year. I did take the suggestion of baking in a larger pan because of the volume of crust crumbs and date filling. I baked in a 11 X 15 roaster to which I lines with heavy duty foil to lift out and cut easier. Worked like a charm and cookies were a nice depth with plenty of filling. Definitely a 5 star recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
These bars are awesome! The only problem is that they don't last long in the house. These bars are quite fattening so I tried using half the amount of shortening by substituting applesauce in its place and they were still just as awesome! I might try eliminating the shortening altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
To those reviewers who had problems with the proportions I can tell you that I've been baking a similar recipe for years that calls for baking the bars in a 9x13" pan. My filling calls for 1 lb dates, 2/3c. brown sugar, 2/3c. orange juice, 1tsp vanilla extract & 1Tbs lemon juice. I also puree the filling in the processor. The oatmeal mixture calls for 1 1/2c rolled oats, 1 1/2c flour, 1c brown sugar, 1/2tsp baking soda & 2 sticks butter.Pat half of mixture in a greased 9x13"pan, spread with filling and top with remaining oatmeal mixture. It's important to press this top mixture slightly into the filling before baking. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes. Don't give up because this is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Terrific!! My "I hate dates family" went nuts. Currently baking 2nd batch in 1 wk. Full recipe use a 9x13. Half recipe 8x8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I tried a very similar recipe from another Website, and was so disappointed with the results .... I found this recipe, read the reviews, and followed Shooga's suggestions for adjusting ingredients and pan size. My husband wanted date-nut bars, so I also cut back a little on the oats and added some finely chopped walnuts. The family really enjoyed the adjusted recipe at Christmas. The bars are a bit sweet for my taste; I might use less sugar in the filling next time. Thank you, Shooga, for some really good advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I used the modified recipe posted by SHOOGA and it was undoubtedly the best bar cookie recipe ever = I used DOLE orange/strawberry/banana juice instead of regular orange juice and added cinnamon to the cookie base. I also plan to experiment w/using some different "rehydrated" dried fruits in place of half the dates, also different juice blends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States