Date Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
There's nothing crunchy about the oatmeal layers on this cookie. It's doughy and floury and yucky. I measured both the flour and oatmeal in scant measurements and added about 2 tbsp extra butter because of previous reviews. But it came out dry and very crumbly anyway. Not good. Not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I have been using this recipe for a couple of years now. It is so darn delicious. I have over time though, adjusted the amounts of some of the ingredients. I double the date filling and I use about an extra 1/2 cup of shortening for the oats so that it's not as dry. It's so much like date crisp. Excellent with traditional vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachanee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I used the modified recipe posted by SHOOGA and it was undoubtedly the best bar cookie recipe ever = I used DOLE orange/strawberry/banana juice instead of regular orange juice and added cinnamon to the cookie base. I also plan to experiment w/using some different "rehydrated" dried fruits in place of half the dates, also different juice blends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I was trying desperately to get rid of some leftover dates from a fruit basket, and this recipe worked nicely! The crust mixture was rather crumbly, but the crumbles tasted so good that I used them as a pudding topping. I don't think it would hold up well for cookie baskets and such, though. The only alteration I made was to use butter-flavored shortening. I will definitely make this tasty recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I was really disappointed with this recipe. They didn't really seem cooked even though I left them in way longer than directed. I guess I thought cooking them would reduce the crumbling and somehow bind it all together, but the oatmeal crust was VERY crumbley. I would say you could half the amt of the mixter used to make the crust. Even so, I don't think they would have turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I tried a very similar recipe from another Website, and was so disappointed with the results .... I found this recipe, read the reviews, and followed Shooga's suggestions for adjusting ingredients and pan size. My husband wanted date-nut bars, so I also cut back a little on the oats and added some finely chopped walnuts. The family really enjoyed the adjusted recipe at Christmas. The bars are a bit sweet for my taste; I might use less sugar in the filling next time. Thank you, Shooga, for some really good advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I used less flour and oats but I still didn't achieve the consistency I was looking for. Still a good recipe and satisfied my date square craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
Very good recipe. I did read the reviews before making this recipe, and as a result I made the following changes: added a tablespoon of lemon juice to the date mixture and pureed the date mixture. I also used a 9 x 13 inch pan. The result was great, and my husband loved them, which is ALWAYS my true test of a winning recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Terrific!! My "I hate dates family" went nuts. Currently baking 2nd batch in 1 wk. Full recipe use a 9x13. Half recipe 8x8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
I made this at the request of my father for Christmas and they came out great!! I pretty much followed the directions except I used butter instead of shortening and I omitted a half cup of flour because I was concerned about the past reviews of the bars being too crumbly..but they came out great!!I also used a 9x13 pan, which was perfect..there would have been WAY too much for a 9x9 pan. My dad hasn't tasted them yet, but I hope he enjoys them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States