Date Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
lacked taste. Didn't look so good as far as presentation goes. I added chopped pecans on top but they wouldn't stick, so all just fell off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
The recipe is BROKEN. It does not work. The crumble is way too much and a total mess...The recipe needs to be rewritten to get 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
The filling was "OK" but the "crunchy layers" were a pile of flour and oatmeal that neither browned or turned crunchy. I tipped the pan and most of it fell of into the sink after I had cooked it for an extra 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This didn't work for me. The flour/oat mixture was entirely too crumbly. The Betty Crocker recipe I checked later called for quick cooking oats, I used the 5 minute kind. The taste was fine, so we just ate it as a kind of "crumble" with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
With a few tweaks these come out amazing. Here's what I changed: For a 9" square pan (or an 8" like I used) keep the ingredients for the filling unchanged but cut the crust in half (1 1/2 cups oats, 1 cup flour etc). Also I did not measure the shortening but rather cut in shortening with a fork until the batter had enough cohesion to form the base layer but was still crumbly. I pressed the top layer of crust gently into the filling with a fork. These will hold together much better if you refrigerate them overnight before cutting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Great recipe. Per some of the other commenter's recommendations, I cut the amount of fat and flour, and used butter instead of shortening. I took one star off for sweetness. I usually like things less sweet than others so I put only about 30% of the sugar called for in, but it was still too much. Dates are extremely sweet fruits already, there's no need to add more sugar to the filling (or crust). Next time I'll cut all the added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Just made this recipe and am VERY disappointed. Much too crumbly and the dates have no taste. I would change from shortening to butter and add vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This bar was soooo dry that when you cut it all that came out of the pan was the date filling. All of the oatmeal mixture just fell away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Made these for a Palm Sunday coffee hour and they were a hit. I just made sure to press the oatmeal layers with wax paper and everything held together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These were very good, although crumbly. I think they need more filling or less crumb mixture. I will make them again and maybe double the amount of date filling. I also added vanilla to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States