Date Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This was a very bizarre cookie. The cookies never hardened and remained gooey blobs that stuck to your teeth. I wouldn't go through the trouble to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. Where do I begin? (1.) It calls for a teaspoon of water & then you are supposed to boil the dates in it? What?!!? Not possible- the best you can do is saute the dates. (2.) After mixing everything together you are then supposed to roll it into balls. Yeah right! The mixture is far too soupy to roll anything. (3.) The cookies then stuck to the pans so much that the cookies could not be removed from the pans at all! I had to scrape the cookies off the pans & then spend the rest of the night scrubbing the pans clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This was great... I also added some prunes to the mixture... made it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di Katz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
found these delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
My mom made this every xmas growing up, very tastey. Never can just eat one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeleekaPhillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I loved these as a kid and when my mother died she didn't leave any recipes for anything, which was probably good, because she wasn't much of a cook, however, I haven't made cookies in 35 yrs. I decided to make these to take to my Christmas party at work, everyone raved, and I am definately not a baker! Next time I'll put the dates in the food processor, too sticky to chop with a knife. Loved the results, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
what a wonderful surprise, everyone is raving over these little bites. fast and easy, this is my 6-7 batch in less than 3 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newhall, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Ah, where to begin? First, I have to say that these date balls taste delicious, just like my grandmother's. And it is the only date ball recipe I have found on this website without rice krispies (thank god!). Anyways, I found these to be quite difficult to make. I was trying to surprise my grandmother for Christmas by making date balls cause they are her favorite, but my mom and I lost her recipe. We didn't want to call her and ask, so I tried using this one. There is something a little off about this recipe, and I think it has to do with the initial step. The proportion of dates to water to butter seem to be off, which is causing a consistency problem later. These don't maintain their ball shape very well in the oven or on the cooling rack, and they are just too soft. Granted, I haven't refrigerated them yet which will harden them considerably, but they lose their shape too fast before I can get them in the fridge! I'm going to get my grandmother's recipe and post it on here. It is very similar to this, just definitely not as messy and difficult. 5 stars for taste though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Non functional recipe totally agree with the other two bad reviews. I never write reviews but had to. First reviewer was right on was to soupy, how to boil dates esp with one tsp of water? I did it on low and kept stirring they don't break down that much. then after adding the egg whites beaten till stiff it was way to runny could not make a ball i added sugar, rice krispies, coconut and still couldn't make a ball ended up plopping on a cookie sheet kind of like bars but they never hardened after baking need to eat with spoon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
It was way too liquid. I kept checking the recipe convinced I forgot something. I added a lot of quick oats - a bit at a time. I probably added more than 1 cup and then I could make balls. Everyone loves them! But you have to add oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States