Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is the real deal! The only change I made was poultry seasoning instead of Italian seasoning (I was out of Italian). It turned out so good, I keep making it that way. TIP: I use my kitchen aid with the paddle attachment, and beat it or 3 to 5 minutes and get the exact texture. TIP: I have also turned these into hburger patties, grilled them on the BBQ and serve it on a bun with the donair sauce, tomatoes and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
We LOVED this. I made the sauce as listed, but made a few changes: I halved the sauce, used heavy cream, and added more vinegar. I think I used 5 tsp white vinegar for 6 oz heavy cream. I left the other measurements (of everything) the same. I served this in pitas (which fell apart, because I steamed mine in the oven, bad idea) with lettuce and red onion (which I pre-soaked in ice water for about 3 hours, to cut the bite). Everything worked exactly as described; the sauce thickened beautifully in the fridge (I did let it fridge for about 3 hours). The interesting thing about the donair sauce is this is the EXACT same stuff that Mexican restaurants around here give you with tortilla chips! I never knew how it was made, and every time I've asked I've been directed to cheese sauces, so this was a FANTASTIC find! (I have no idea why Mexican restaurants in Virginia serve tortilla chips with Eastern Canadian Lebanese sauces, but I was super glad to discover this recipe!) My husband proclaimed this sandwich "super tasty" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Based on previous reviews I did a combo of the food processor and knead/throwing-which was indeed quite fun! The texture was good; it sliced thinly after being refrigerated for a day. I doubled the spices, which might be overkill (and I like to really spice up my food). I used all ground round, but I think 1/2 ground lamb and 1/2 ground round would be tastier/more authentic. Fun recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
The meat is amazing. Tasted just like any I've had from the best Donair shops. I would recommend at least doubling the recipe as it doesn't make much. It also freezes well so I think I'd make a few batches to keep in the freezer for quick meals. I sliced it cold the day after making it and pan fried it briefly. If you don't feel like the meat throwing workout, just use a food processor. My second batch done in the f.p. yielded just the same texture. Everyone was raving over this. It only gets 4 stars because I had issues with the sauce. I followed the directions to the letter and it was way too runny. The taste was spot on though. It also make far too much for the amount of meat, that is, unless you like your sandwich *really* heavy on the sauce. Thanks for the recipe and making our tastebuds do the happy dance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This recipe is perfect! I think it's even better buying one. I extracted my husband from his hometown Edmonton, AB to Seattle, WA and his world would be complete with this and Timmys each morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is really good! I have never had a donair but seen it on the reviews page and decided to try it. It tastes very similar to a gyro and made this way has a kind of similar texture to. The best part is I know what kind of meat went into making it. I used 93% lean beef and it worked fine. I lined a square pan with foil and sprayed it with pan spray. I didn't know what to think about the slamming it 20 times, but I did that in the large plastic bowl I had mixed it into, but it really does compact the meat making it slice up in nice thin slices. Do not skip that step! I served it on thin Lebanese pita bread with sliced tomatoes and onions. I tried the sauce but did not like it at all. It was so sweet and I don't care for canned milk taste anyway. It is a waste of canned milk as it makes way too much anyhow. After finding I did not like it I just made a white sauce with about 1/2 cup lite sour cream, a minced garlic clove, and a spoon of milk to thin it. I will definitely be making this recipe again, but doubling it next time. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I would like to say that this is a great recipe. It is very similar to the traditional donair that you would eat in Turkey. Yes, Donair is from Turkey and was introduced to Nova Scotia by Turkish-Immigrants in the 1970s. Over all, I would say that it's worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This recipe is now an addiction in our house! I do use 50% ground beef, 50% ground pork though. Just a bit juicier that way! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
There is something amazingly cathartic about slamming a hunk of ground beef repeatedly upon your counter top. I also mixed it initially with my hand mixer, as I don't have a food processor. The texture was pretty much perfect given the combination of the two. I haven't had a donair in years, since I was last visiting Halifax. I saw this recipe in someone's recipe box, and my mouth started to water as my head filled with memories of the meal. Goodness, this is delicious. Spot on. Exactly what I was craving. I could hardly muster the resolve to let the meat cool for slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I just moved to Prince Albert from Alberta and I LOVE donairs and here honestly you ask most people where to get one and they dont even know what the word means!!!! So desperat for a donair(my husband loves them too) I tried this recipe and it is just like going home!!!!! AMAZING!!!! I was skeptical at first but as it cooks it smells just like the ones back home!!! So YUMMY!!! I aslo made my own pitas i found a great recipe on a website called amideastfeast.com they were perfect. Anyone who is second guessing to try this one...TRY IT!! super easy and you'd swear your at a donair shop. Like one of the other reviewers i wrapped mine in paper(i used baking paper) so its easy to eat and less messy. Enjoy...i know we did. Oh and the sauce is amazing to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States