Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
OMG so excellent! Thank you for sharing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was amazing. I had to stop myself from eating the whole loaf!!! Instead of baking it in the oven, I wrapped it in tinfoil with a few holes in the bottom and baked on the upper rack in the barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
These were amazing! I was not going to make the sauce as sweet sauce is not my thing, but i figured if it was disgusting i would make some tsaziki. It was actually ok. Everyone else thought the sauce was really good though. I will be making these again and again. My husband wants me to make a really big one so he can carve it on a rotisserie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is the real deal! The only change I made was poultry seasoning instead of Italian seasoning (I was out of Italian). It turned out so good, I keep making it that way. TIP: I use my kitchen aid with the paddle attachment, and beat it or 3 to 5 minutes and get the exact texture. TIP: I have also turned these into hburger patties, grilled them on the BBQ and serve it on a bun with the donair sauce, tomatoes and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
We LOVED this. I made the sauce as listed, but made a few changes: I halved the sauce, used heavy cream, and added more vinegar. I think I used 5 tsp white vinegar for 6 oz heavy cream. I left the other measurements (of everything) the same. I served this in pitas (which fell apart, because I steamed mine in the oven, bad idea) with lettuce and red onion (which I pre-soaked in ice water for about 3 hours, to cut the bite). Everything worked exactly as described; the sauce thickened beautifully in the fridge (I did let it fridge for about 3 hours). The interesting thing about the donair sauce is this is the EXACT same stuff that Mexican restaurants around here give you with tortilla chips! I never knew how it was made, and every time I've asked I've been directed to cheese sauces, so this was a FANTASTIC find! (I have no idea why Mexican restaurants in Virginia serve tortilla chips with Eastern Canadian Lebanese sauces, but I was super glad to discover this recipe!) My husband proclaimed this sandwich "super tasty" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Based on previous reviews I did a combo of the food processor and knead/throwing-which was indeed quite fun! The texture was good; it sliced thinly after being refrigerated for a day. I doubled the spices, which might be overkill (and I like to really spice up my food). I used all ground round, but I think 1/2 ground lamb and 1/2 ground round would be tastier/more authentic. Fun recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
The meat is amazing. Tasted just like any I've had from the best Donair shops. I would recommend at least doubling the recipe as it doesn't make much. It also freezes well so I think I'd make a few batches to keep in the freezer for quick meals. I sliced it cold the day after making it and pan fried it briefly. If you don't feel like the meat throwing workout, just use a food processor. My second batch done in the f.p. yielded just the same texture. Everyone was raving over this. It only gets 4 stars because I had issues with the sauce. I followed the directions to the letter and it was way too runny. The taste was spot on though. It also make far too much for the amount of meat, that is, unless you like your sandwich *really* heavy on the sauce. Thanks for the recipe and making our tastebuds do the happy dance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This recipe is perfect! I think it's even better buying one. I extracted my husband from his hometown Edmonton, AB to Seattle, WA and his world would be complete with this and Timmys each morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is really good! I have never had a donair but seen it on the reviews page and decided to try it. It tastes very similar to a gyro and made this way has a kind of similar texture to. The best part is I know what kind of meat went into making it. I used 93% lean beef and it worked fine. I lined a square pan with foil and sprayed it with pan spray. I didn't know what to think about the slamming it 20 times, but I did that in the large plastic bowl I had mixed it into, but it really does compact the meat making it slice up in nice thin slices. Do not skip that step! I served it on thin Lebanese pita bread with sliced tomatoes and onions. I tried the sauce but did not like it at all. It was so sweet and I don't care for canned milk taste anyway. It is a waste of canned milk as it makes way too much anyhow. After finding I did not like it I just made a white sauce with about 1/2 cup lite sour cream, a minced garlic clove, and a spoon of milk to thin it. I will definitely be making this recipe again, but doubling it next time. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I would like to say that this is a great recipe. It is very similar to the traditional donair that you would eat in Turkey. Yes, Donair is from Turkey and was introduced to Nova Scotia by Turkish-Immigrants in the 1970s. Over all, I would say that it's worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States