Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
One thing I do, because my sauce NEVER turns out thick enough- is to use a can of sweetened condensed milk, about 1/2 cup of vinegar, and a tsp. of garlic powder. MY recipe you can stir to your hearts content and it will still be ridiculously thick. I grew up in Nova Scotia but we are a military family, and living EVERYWHERE has made my husband really miss donairs now that we live out west. This recipe for the meat is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Used turkey. Instead of throwing it all over i used a metal cutter to make the meat finer. This did the trick! The smell of it cooking had my wife drooling, and when i reheated in the microwave the coworkers were oohing and ahhing. It smelled better than it tastes but still tasted good. Am not sure what i am missing on this one, maybe a little more salt and frying it will do the trick. Will be eating it again tonight with adjustments and will post my findings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Great recipe! I don't eat red meat so I made it with ground chicken instead and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were great. I married a man that is from New Bruswick and he loved them! Even said that they were better than his mom's :) Next time we will add more garlic and onion powder. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nipawin, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Olds, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe. Thanks. BTW, I LOVE Dash! Fell in love in New Orleans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Another person from Halifax here. :) After reading the great reviews , I thought I'd try this recipe to make donair burgers for a summer party. It did not disappoint! I took the recommendation to use the paddle on my stand mixer and beat the meat to get the texture right. The combination of spices is perfect to achieve the donair flavour. I formed the meat into slider burgers, and barbequed them until well done. (donair meat is always better with a crust) I also served them with chopped tomato and onion, the sauce (I cheated and bought sauce from the local donair shop) and slider buns/mini pitas. They were a hit at the party, with none left. I doubled this recipe to male about 30 sliders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flunkiejunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I live in Halifax and this is BETTER than greasy shop donairs. The sauce is perfect if you use 4 TBSPS of vinegar added all at once and do not stir it too much. I slice the meat very thin and just throw some in a pan to heat it when I want one - try cooking the onions a little in the pan with the meat - delicious! BEST donair meat I have ever had and I have had alot!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alternativemom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Musquodoboit Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
My wife is from Nova Scotia and we now live in North Carolina she got me hooked on this while there in NS but dont have it in the south and i have to tell you i did this for a suprise one night and was a great hit it was just like we were there in Canada thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Tastes just like I remember all those years ago. Thinly slice the meat and fry it in a pan to crisp/warm it before eating and then run the pita quickly under water and throw into the hot pan for a few seconds to soften it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INUKSHUK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States