Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Out standing. Being from Nova Scotia, i spent many a nights on pizza corner eating some of the best donairs in the world. This by far is the best donair i have found being so far from home. The sauce was also incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eyesrightphoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
this is just like the donairs from back home! I'm so happy to have found this recipe I could cry. The only thing to make it better would be to go back home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This recipe is awesome! I just put the meat in my food processor, premixed the spices, poured the spice mixture in the food processor with the meat, and mixed away! That was I got the finely ground texture like donair meat is supposed to be. Regarding the sauce, I also premixed the sugar and the garlic together before pouring the milk in. Otherwise the garlic will ball up into chunks (kind of like flour). I'm really cheap, so I don't buy takeout much. I am SO GLAD to have learned how to make proper donair! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I have never had or made one of these before, but after looking at the pictures and reading the reviews I just had to try one. It was pretty neat to throw the meat forcefully down and is a great recipe to make to get out any anger issues. I really enjoyed the flavor of the meat and thought it was great. I did not like the sauce because I am more used to a sauce that goes over gyros. But my husband ate it and did not complain. (he is the most picky person ever!) Deff a 5 star recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Great recipe for first time try. The only suggestion I could make is adding an 1/8 tsp of cumin to it for a little kick and to take meat after ingreidients have been blended and put it through a mixer or a blender so the meat comes out with a very smooth ((bologna like) texture and will be less likely to fracture upon slicing. Otherwise this is the best recipe that I've tried off the net to date. It's so cheap to make compared to what it costs in the store. You get 2/3 yield from original weight(un-cooked). It's like $10 or more for a lb of donair meat in any grocery store. It cost $3 to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I made the donair's last night, and made using the exact same ingredients, however next time I will reduce the salt to 1/2 -3/4 tsp. I also put all the spices in a grinder and ground to a powder ( used oregano flakes, whole pepper and red chilies), then added all the meat and spices in my blender and blended until very finely ground. I rolled in plastic wrap very tight , then placed on a broiler pan. After having it cool in the fridge for 1 hour, I used very sharp knife and sliced very thin. No need to keep overnight in the fridge before slicing. It turned out wonderfully!!!! For the sauce I used one can of sweetened condensed milk and 1/2 cup white vinegar, added 1 tsp of garlic powder. Thank you so much for sharing this, I will never pay again for a sub standard donair again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Easy to make, and tastes like the Maritime donairs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
with some many ppl having trouble with the donair sauce i had to sign up and tell how to do it...1 can of evaporated milk,1 cup of sugar, 1\3 cup of vinegar mix milk and sugar WELL in a bowl then with a wisk get the mixture moving really well then dump the vinegar in quick and it will thicken almost instantly only stir very lightly a couple times after the vinegar is added or it will go runny then refrigerate untill cold and it will thicken even more i found a video on youtube u can check out he makes the sauce the same way just a bigger recipe the link is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HjyYSYsvACc hope this helps with the sauce problems he also has a donair recipe also,i havent tryed this donair recipe yet but i plan to and ill let you no how it turns out im from nova scotia and eat and love donair
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
These are a favorite in our house. We prepare them a bit differenetly. We put the pita on a baking sheet then add a couple of slices of pepperoni then slices of the donair meat, top with mozarella cheese and then broil them. We then top with onions, lettuce, tomato and sauce and eat them with a knife and fork. You can also make a donair pizza with the sauce on the bottom instead of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Reminds me of a place in Edmonton "Charles Smart". The first donair place that my wife took me. Also to make the sauce do the 1/4c vinegar and only whisk it a few times. I can't remember who said this but it is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States