Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I haven't had a Donair this good since eating one at Charles Smart in Edmonton, Alberta 20 years ago! I doubled the recipe but used half ground beef and half ground lamb. I also reduced the sugar in the sauce to half of a cup. The secret to the sauce is to combine all ingredients, except the vinegar. Once combined, pour the vinegar on top and let it sit for about 5 minutes. Stir 4-5 times with a spoon and then leave it alone! Lastly, heat up one side of a Lebanese flat bread before assembling. Don't forget the shredded lettuce, sliced tomatoes and sliced onions. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Using Dartmouth Donair as the standard for all donairs sold in Canada, this recipe hits the mark. Anybody who has had a Canadian east coast donair will love this recipe. I have made this several times and through trial and error I recommend the following: a. use regular ground beef, lean makes the meat too dry and the fat in regular ground really adds flavour; b. LET THE MEAT COOL before slicing; slice THIN; c. save some of the pan drippings and fry the slices using about a tablespoon of the drippings until browned(2-3 minutes);and d. make sure to use Lebanese style flat bread pita not Greek style pita. Makes a big difference! Now enjoy these fabulous sandwiches!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This recipe is awesome!! Reminds me of donairs I had growing up on the east coast. I made two loaves for my superbowl party and they were a huge hit. Everyone wanted the recipe. I have one question though, is there any way to make the sauce thicker? I cut the sugar back to a 1/3 cup and now I can't get the thickness out of the sauce and just get a runny mess. Tastes great, but would be better thicker..........any suggestions?? I tried cornstarch but it affected the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I only needed to make half the sauce as it was very sweet and a little went a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
My family loved this! It was just the right amount of spicey. Recommend you definitely throw and knead the meat according to the receipe. You will end up with a loaf that has the texture of donair meat and is easy to slice. Don't forget to let the loaf stand for 10 min after cooking to make the slicing even easier! Also recommend you chill your sauce to get that real donair experience and definitely garnish with lots of chopped onions and tomatoes. Also suggest to heat your pita before assembling donair (stack in microwave with a damp paper towel covering them and heat until warm). You could also add warmed up sliced pepperoni with the meat. We are having donair pizza tonight with the leftovers (I will definitely add pepperoni to the pizza to make sure there is enough meat). Absolutely YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Thank you for a great recipe. These are better than all the ones I tried and I tried alot. I made no changes. I doubled the recipe and baked for almost 2 hrs. Thanks again Dash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥PaliLuv♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
love the recipe. For a twist, 5 lb of ground turkey to the spices of 4 ppunds except half the cayenne pepper. I cannot keep it in the house. Trying to make a non-dairy sauce for a friend that is alergic to all things cow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
As an ex-Edmontonian who's baffled by the complete absence of good Donair shops outside of Alberta (and Nova Scotia), this recipe is a godsend. Finally, something for my Donair cravings. Based on my one trip to Halifax and K.O.D., this seems like a very authentic Halifax donair, and should be very satisfying to anyone from Edmonton. The key to a mouthwatering donair is the sweet sauce, and how the sauce gradually mixes with the meat and spice to make each bite better than the last. But this recipe is nuclear sweet. If you're not from Halifax you'll probably want to cut down the sugar by a quarter or a half. And as others have suggested, you really need to up the vinegar to thicken the sauce. It's also quite garlicky. You can cut down on the garlic powder it that's not your thing. A little dill weed made a nice addition to the sauce as well, but it was a shot in the dark. I'm still searching for a sauce closer to the typical Edmonton donair, but this is a delicious starting point
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
The meat turned out well, I made it the night before and sliced and slightly fried it, I followed the directions to a tee, and my sauce was as runny as water....I am not sure, but should it not be the consistency of Mayo or sour cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I forgot how good Donairs were and these brought back memories of ones I enjoyed while living on the East Coast. Super easy to do in a food processor to get the right texture. The only thing I wish I could have done was shave the meat super thin so it would have stretched further. The sauce was perfect, add vinegar all at once and just give it a couple stirs to blend in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States