Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I have only been to Canada once, but had something along these lines while I was there and wondered what it was! I love southern food, but this sauce is nothing like a gravy. It is tangy, sweet, and creamy all in one- don't be afraid to try it, you Americans! Now, I am giving this 4 stars instead of 5 because I was disappointed in how little the sauce actually "thickened"-- I whisked for a good while and followed directions but it didn't do the trick for me. I would have preferred a thicker sauce to the runny, messier one I got, but it still tasted great. If you are not wanting to wait nearly 2 hours for this meal, try what I did as a shortcut: Thinly slice sirloin or some other high-grade meat, and season as you would the ground beef in the recipe. Cook on the stove top and then add to sandwich bread or wraps or whatever you like. I like it with some lettuce, chopped onion, and tomatoes. Add the sauce, and enjoy! It's unique and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Excellent..the family love it! Just made 3 for the freezer and only 2 made it there!!! didnt make the sauce for it as we use hot sauce instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Wow! My hubby just retired and was looking for different lunches. I made a 3 lb batch following the recipe exactly. I sliced and froze them in portion sized batches. 3 Weeks later I'm making another batch!! He didn't care for the sauce, here in Ottawa it seems to be mayo based. The meat is to die for. Make sure to give the meat a 2nd grind and the throwing down the meat is key. Thank you Dash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT THE SAUCE: To get the right thickness I have found it necessary to increase the sugar to 1 cup from 3/4 cup and it is absolutely imperative that once you have combined the sugar, evaporated milk, and garlic powder to NOT stir the sauce too much upon adding the vinegar otherwise the chemical reaction will fail and you will have a runny sauce. I simply add 1/4 cup of vinegar right at the end and only give it 2-3 slow long stirs and then refrigerate and the sauce turns out the perfect consistency. I was born and raised in New Brunswick and the one thing I miss most after moving to Montreal in 1998 was "Greco Donair"- I practically lived on their donairs and donair pizza in university. You cannot get anything even remotely close to a Greco Donair in Quebec and finding this recipe was a godsend. The sauce taste is almost 100% spot on to the sauce they use and while they tend to slice meat off a long spit, the meat smell and taste is almost spot on as well. I can put donair sauce on almost everything and now that I have a recipe that tastes like the one I love, I will be sporting garlic breath a lot more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda P
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Loved these! I had no idea going into this recipe that vinegar would thicken the evaporated milk mixture so I almost didnt make this thinking the sauce would be too runny. Good thing I learned differently since these were great!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I don't eat meat but made this for the family and they ate it up. We took it from the oven, let it cool a bit, sliced it fairly thin, then fried it to get it crispier. Will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This has got to be the best donair recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I've been eating these my whole life. I grew up in Nova Scotia eating these, then I moved to Ontario and have been enjoying them here for over 20 years. A real European treat, I love them with diced onion and tomato and of course, the sweet sauce. Many European and Middle Eastern and African countries have their own version but the Lebanese is my favorite. Juicy and flavorful unlike the bland, dried up versions available. This version of the recipe is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OntarioMan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very easy to make and taste yummy!! My husband loved it so much. I used low fat milk since that eas all I had. The sauce was a little bit on the sweet side and I'm not sure if it's because I used Splenda or its supposed to be sweet like that. I may cut on sugar a little bit the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States