Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Born in Nova Scotia, lived in NB and can't live without my donairs ! Simply divine ! Paradise ! lol Good thing we have these recipes or we'd be flying to NS just to get some ! I'm in Quebec and the only ones I found here are nothing like a real donair. Not even worth buying. This pizza place says their donairs are like Pizza Time but NOT at all ! sorry for rambling on .. have mine in the oven right now and just wanted to say that last time I made some, I made my own pita bread with a recipe I found on Interent and they were so GOOD ! Well worth the work. They were soft and chewy like the ones at Greco, nothing like the store bought pitas, but then it's more work to get what you want. lol * ok now I tried this one and this is the best recipe for the meat, didn't try the sauce but the meat had the same texture as in Pizza places. I do agree on doubling the spices or adding a bit more if you like it spicy. as for the Italian seasoning, I personally didn't like it much and would cut down or leave it out. Gives a different taste then to what I'm accustomed to. Also, I always add some paprika and find it even tastier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Good but not as good as I thought it might be...but still very tasty meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
We made this tonight and it is bang on. I followed the recipe exactly and it was exactly like the donair I had on pizza corner in Halifax last summer. We will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Made this tonight. Very tasty and so easy to make. I triple the recipe. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I am originally from Nova Scotia, donairs are common food for us Eastcoasters, this recipe is a true "Halifax" donair recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nevin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I did not make the sauce part of this recipe because I live in eastern canada, and bought it instead. However, I was looking for an alternative to the expensive prepackaged meat. This is great! A teensy bit too salty, and I recommend using cracked black pepper as it is more authentic. Overall, however, very delicious and donair-y. I formed patties on skewers and barbequed them, as I didn't have the time to allow it to bake. Worked out fine. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Jax
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
The meat was really good – tasted a lot like the lamb in gyros because of all the spices and mixing process the ground beef goes through. I did not feel like this recipe was complete. If I hadn’t researched Donairs, or read the reviews, I wouldn’t have known to lightly fry up the thin slices of meat and serve it on a pita. I think this should have been part of the recipe for people who have never heard of a Donair like me. I used a Bosch mixer to knead the meat and it turned out great. The Donair sauce thickened just fine (I added the vinegar all at once like other reviewers said to do). I made three sauces – a tzatziki sauce, a red greek meat sauce and the Donair sauce. We liked all of the sauces - they were just different from each other. The Donair sauce is sweet and garlicky, the tzatziki sauce is cool and refreshing and the meat sauce is savory. I realize if you use a different sauce it probably doesn’t qualify as a Donair, but the meat does go well with other sauces. We will definitely make the meat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I know this recipe is not for gyro meat but that is what I used it for. Instead of this sauce, I used Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce found on here. It turned out delicious. The only comment I would make is too use a high fat beef like 80/20. I think it holds the flavors better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tssunshine24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TurtleLove
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
OMG! I just finished making and eating this wonderful recipe! Having grown up in NS, and worked in Donair & Pizza shop I was excited to have this small taste of home. After reading some reviews, I can not stress enough that the recipe calls for evaporated milk NOT condensed milk which is correct. To make the sauce you need to whisk the milk, garlic powder and sugar until the sugar is incorporated. Then begin whisking quickly and add the vinegar all at once and only whisk 4-5 more times and stop! If you continue to stir the sauce will liquefy. Let the sauce mixture sit and the flavors meld while you prep the sandwich. On a hot skillet fry the meat to heat and run the pita under water and heat it as well. Note that the pita, and meat are served hot, but the sauce, tomatoes, and onions are cold. There was enough sauce to garnish at least 6-7 donairs and for us the meat only made 3...so I would recommend that you at least triple the meat portion of the recipe! Thanks for a taste of home!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miskyn
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I can't give full stars because I altered it slightly. I mixed Ground Turkey, Pork and Beef together and mixed it all in my Kitchen Aide then followed the recipe otherwise. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 131-140 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States