Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I know this recipe is not for gyro meat but that is what I used it for. Instead of this sauce, I used Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce found on here. It turned out delicious. The only comment I would make is too use a high fat beef like 80/20. I think it holds the flavors better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tssunshine24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TurtleLove
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
OMG! I just finished making and eating this wonderful recipe! Having grown up in NS, and worked in Donair & Pizza shop I was excited to have this small taste of home. After reading some reviews, I can not stress enough that the recipe calls for evaporated milk NOT condensed milk which is correct. To make the sauce you need to whisk the milk, garlic powder and sugar until the sugar is incorporated. Then begin whisking quickly and add the vinegar all at once and only whisk 4-5 more times and stop! If you continue to stir the sauce will liquefy. Let the sauce mixture sit and the flavors meld while you prep the sandwich. On a hot skillet fry the meat to heat and run the pita under water and heat it as well. Note that the pita, and meat are served hot, but the sauce, tomatoes, and onions are cold. There was enough sauce to garnish at least 6-7 donairs and for us the meat only made 3...so I would recommend that you at least triple the meat portion of the recipe! Thanks for a taste of home!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miskyn
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I can't give full stars because I altered it slightly. I mixed Ground Turkey, Pork and Beef together and mixed it all in my Kitchen Aide then followed the recipe otherwise. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is awesome. Made a double batch and froze one. When I used the second one I made a sauce of 1 cup mayo; 1/4 cup sugar; 1 tbsp vinegar and garlic powder to taste. Warmed up thinly sliced Donair meat in microwave and melted cheddar cheese on top. Warmed up tortillas and put together. It was even better the second time around. Next time I will put tomatoes and onions in wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoyt, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This recipe is AWESOME! It was so easy to make and the donairs tasted exactly like the ones that my husband and I drool over from a local restaurant! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennmack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This recipe is amazing! My husband (from Halifax) and I have been using it for the past 8 months and it is both of our favourite meals. I am vegetarian so I use veggie ground round for mine and just add the spices to it instead (without salt). my hubby makes the meat version and it's turned out every time. The sauce is also delicious and anyone who says otherwise is not making it right...it takes some technique...this is how we do it: -must use full fat evaporated milk -mix in sugar and garlic completely until sugar is no longer granular -begin whisking the mixture to get liquid moving and pour in 1/4 c of vinegar AT ONCE -ONLY STIR 3 or 4 more times and let the chemical reaction occur and the mixture thickens (on its own)...this is key!! The sauce turns out perfectly this way...so we recommend following the steps exactly if you want the same great results that we get! ***also make sure to wet the pita under the tap and sear it on a hot pan so that the pita is moist and pliable for adding the donair ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
It was Bang on !!!! My Wife and kids found it a little spicy, so i will reduce the HOT stuff next time. Great recipe !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made this as a pizza using the brick oven pizza dough from this site, I used the sauce for dipping the crust. Am looking forward to trying as a sandwich with the leftovers which I have frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammanug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
loved the Donair,only thing is it was a little salty for me and my wife.Will cut salt in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crad

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Great recipe... I've made this many many times and I like adding way more spice. Also to make the sauce come out perfect you have to use CONDENSED milk. I know Eagle brand is the most common but you can just as easily use the generic stuff. Condensed milk is really thick and you just need to add vinegar to dilute it. Lot easier than trying to make evoporated milk thick :) Hope that helps folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States