Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is the best tasting sauce recipe out there. Instead of using the entire can, try using only 1 cup of the evoparated mil instead. The sauce thickens faster and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
The meat looked and tasted awesome. I'm still always surprised when I make something I've only eaten in restaurants and it actually comes out tasting exactly like it's supposed to. I'm only giving it 4 stars because I didn't care for the the sauce. I followed it exactly and it set up nice and thick but it was soo sweet and sugary it turned my stomach. And my husband refused to eat it and ate the rest of his plain instead of with the sauce. I had to go buy some tzatziki so we could eat the leftovers and that was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki0310

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and everyone thought it was beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Wow! This is EXCELLENT!!! Hint: Do let the meat sit in refrigerator at least overnight before serving. I tried it straight out of the oven and just wasn't that impressed. However, tried again the next day and WOW!!! really great. I didn't have great results with the sauce though. Too runny for my liking. Nothing compares to the PIZZA DELIGHT donair sauce so I did some searching and finally found something comparable.... use 1 can sweetened condensed milk, 1/3C white vinegar and 1-2tsp garlic powder (or to your liking). Combine the garlic powder and milk together well then slowly about 1/3 at a time add the vinegar, let sit a few seconds then just stir to combine, let sit another few seconds and continue until all the vinegar has been combined. Refrigerate it for at least 30mins before serving. So delicious! I used store bought greek style pitas (which are thicker and more like pizza dough) then followed another reviewers idea for wetting them well then frying them up in an oiled frying pan to warm and soften them up. Good job Dash! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalhousie, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
The meat was amazing! but I found the donair sauce too sweet, I will probably will omit any added sugar next time I prefer more of the garlic flavor to come through. Overall delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJCee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
great donair meat... it was just like the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee McCloskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
All i can say is..WOW! We are from Belleville Ontario, where there is a great donair shop, in true East Coast style called Nova Deli. They got us addicted from our teens on, and when we moved to the Greater Toronto Area, we thought there would be a somewhere to get a good donair...We were wrong :-( Everytime we go back to our hometown we buy some of the meat and the sauce, BUT NO MORE!! lol. Ty, My husband loved it and actually ate a whole one before i had finished warming up more meat.(he had seconds:-) Topped with shredded cheese, tomatoes and onions. I just got a new KitchenAid food processor, so I actually mixed the meat and spices in it, baked it as directed, then chilled it before i sliced it. The sauce.../sighs with joy, was just amazing. Follow the directions, you will have a great dinner. Make extra and freeze, Donair pizza rocks btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Tastes just like the real thing. Some of the family thought the sauce was too sweet but some thought it was just right...definately will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
We just had this for dinner and we weren't disappointed. The meat turned out really yummy and I have always wondered how they made the sauce. Now I know. My sauce was a little on the thin side so I will have to make some adjustments there next time. I doubled this recipe thinking I could freeze the left over for another night. Yea right. My husband and my daughter (who doesn't like Donair, but love these) had seconds. Even my 3 yr old loved this and asked for more. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing Dashriprock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABROCK
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Fabulous! Great traditional Donair :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States