Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This might be the best recipe I've tried from this site! Definately restaurant quality! (I'm from the east coast of Canada where these are very popular ) For the donair sauce I only used 1/2 C sugar, 3 tsp vinegar and about 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I thickened it on the stove with corn starch and then let it cool before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
this was so good. it was very simular to the one in edmonton on 149th street. the sauce was a little runny for me. we typically add bbq sauce to it, onions, tomato and letuce. i like black olives on mine. yum. didnt realize that donair was so easy to make!! thanks a lot for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ur2good2btru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Yup. Just like I remembered from Greco's in N.B. Didn't change one thing except how to thicken the sauce. The ONLY way it will get the correct consistency (like pancake batter) is to heat all sauce ingredients in saucepan over medium heat, stir constantly and slowly stir in about 1 tsp cornstarch. NOW, it's a perfect recipe. My sauce (although very tasty) was always runny even after barely stirring vinegar in. I then let it chill as meat is chilling as it is better room cool or at minimum room temperature. I Bought Greek gyros bread-do NOT even use pita bread-must be thicker and soft. That is what donairs have in common with gyros - the bread. My southern born children adore this recipe from my childhood which makes me very happy. Thanks DASH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I loved it - you really do have to kneed the meat alot, it makes a bige difference - although my sauce always turns out to thin - any suggestions, because I like mine quie thick. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
It was a great search to find a good recipe, but this was it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was super easy and super delicious! My husband was skeptical, but he was pleasantly surprised by how good it was! I put the meat in the food processor to blend it well (I read about this on another site, to get the right texture) and that worked out pretty good. The portion isn't very large though, so next time I'll double, or triple the beef. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was a great recipe. I doubled the recipe as I have a lot of mouths to feed (6) It was so easy to make, and I admit I had a little fun smashing the meat in the bowl...hehehe. Next time I make this though, I will up the spice by a bit. It is a little milder than my local donair shop, and we prefer it a little stronger. The sauce turned out great, but I accidentally put in a bit of onion powder instead of garlic in my hurry getting this to the table...oops! When I added my vinegar, I poured a little at a time in and BARELY stirred it. It thickened beautifully. Also for those with issues with the sweetness of the sauce..it's supposed to be that way! It melds with the spices in the meat..yum! I would love to try it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Huntley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Fantastic and tastes almost as good as a restaurant...a rotisserie would make it perfect as it tastes best slowly cooked without drying out. I recommend undercooking it since it will be fried up anyways. Always wet the pita and blast it for a few seconds in the microwave to make more pliable. I usually add mozza cheese at this point. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
great donair meat recipe. it was a great taste from home since they don't know how to do donairs on the west coast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
easy to make and taste pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States