Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I am from Atlantic Canada and this is a great recipe for donairs (I love them and have them alot) I can't believe that this delicious treat hasn't gone much past Atlantic Canada yet and I could barely belive it when I found this out. The meat in this recipe is perfectly spiced and the sauce tastes perfect as well. You are a real donair expert! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
Perfect!!!! tastes exactly like the ones I tried in nova scotia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This is absolutly fabulous meal. The important thing they left out of the recipe is how to eat it! after looking around the net, First we tried it on fried pita breads. which was delicious, but was messy, and fried. so, we then tried it, with just dry pitas, and opened them like pockets. with the meat, and the sauce, and tomato and onion. would be good with lettuce or cucumber too. would also be good on a premade pizza crust like boboli and the sauce and tomatos onions and cucumbers. Fabulous meal, for something that sounds so gross. I will make this again and again. plus, since the meat is so simular to meatloaf recipes... maybe ill try just making the sauce for that leftover night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Thank you Dash!!!! I'm from Nova Scotia and I CRAVE these things. This recipe is a great recipe for donair meat ~ the sauce is bang-on, as well. For the reviewers who may be unsure of what to do with the sauce and meat: 1) Fry a pita in a small amount of oil to soften it (I just put mine in the microwave for a few seconds ~ it's just to make the pita pliable to wrap around the fillings), fry the donair meat in same pan to warm it, and then fold the pita around the donair meat, sauce and chopped tomatoes and onions for toppings. (I've also had them with mozzarella cheese melted in them ~ mmmmmmmmm). 2) Meat and sauce make great oven-baked subs (same topping suggestions). 3) Donair Pizzas ~ sauce, meat and whatever toppings strike your fancy, mozzarella cheese. 4) The famous Donair Plate: fries topped with meat, sauce, chopped tomatoes, chopped onions, mozzarella cheese and baked in the oven. (I order mine without the fries ~ personal preference). I can't believe donairs haven't really caught out outside eastern Canada ~ these are big business at the pizza shops here....I order donairs way more often than pizza ~ my 13-year-old has been an addict since he was old enough to pick off my plate. :-) Oh, and pizza corner rocks for donairs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
These were very close to the donairs I'm used to, but it was quite dry. I used lean ground beef (the recipe doesn't specify), but next time I think I'll use medium or even regular and maybe not cook it as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYM25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I'm from Oklahoma and I had never heard of donair. I tried this in pita bread with sharp cheddar cheese, tomato and romaine. I was not blown away by this recipe. I found the meat to be dry, first off. I tried to have an open mind about a milk-sugar-garlic-vinegar sauce (Oklahomans like their milk gravy but this mixture is TOTALLY unexpected..) I guess it's culture shock. Not something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Having been gone from NS for 10 years now, we are always looking for our donair "fix". We just recently found a GReco pizza in Ontario and were ecited about donair pizza. This recipes is really good, but hte sauce was just OK, maybe because I used non-fat milk, dont know. Next time will try whole milk. Thanks, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Everett, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I was born and raise in Halifax N.S. and now reside in the US with my family and I can tell you this recipe is right on! Especially the sauce! My daughter's were very pleased to taste a donair once again just like they had back home! Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I am from Halifax too. This is the exact recipe used by the restaurant that invented the Donair. The trick to the meat is to ask your butcher to put it through the meat grinder 2 more times to grind it extra fine. Medium beef also works the best. Also, absolutely no substitutes can be made for the sauce. You must used evaporated milk and you must chill the sauce before using. The cold sauce meets warm spicy beef is an important part of the experience. a warm pita is important too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I've never heard of this bizarre dish either! But it must be similar to the fare at the "doner kebab" shops all over England. There, the huge loaf of meat is on a rotating vertical spit and is scraped off. I would think the sauce here is an attempt to recreate the yogurt sauces used at the shops, perhaps before yogurt was available in Nova Scotia. Anyway, I plan to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States