Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is really good! I have never had a donair but seen it on the reviews page and decided to try it. It tastes very similar to a gyro and made this way has a kind of similar texture to. The best part is I know what kind of meat went into making it. I used 93% lean beef and it worked fine. I lined a square pan with foil and sprayed it with pan spray. I didn't know what to think about the slamming it 20 times, but I did that in the large plastic bowl I had mixed it into, but it really does compact the meat making it slice up in nice thin slices. Do not skip that step! I served it on thin Lebanese pita bread with sliced tomatoes and onions. I tried the sauce but did not like it at all. It was so sweet and I don't care for canned milk taste anyway. It is a waste of canned milk as it makes way too much anyhow. After finding I did not like it I just made a white sauce with about 1/2 cup lite sour cream, a minced garlic clove, and a spoon of milk to thin it. I will definitely be making this recipe again, but doubling it next time. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I would like to say that this is a great recipe. It is very similar to the traditional donair that you would eat in Turkey. Yes, Donair is from Turkey and was introduced to Nova Scotia by Turkish-Immigrants in the 1970s. Over all, I would say that it's worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This recipe is now an addiction in our house! I do use 50% ground beef, 50% ground pork though. Just a bit juicier that way! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
There is something amazingly cathartic about slamming a hunk of ground beef repeatedly upon your counter top. I also mixed it initially with my hand mixer, as I don't have a food processor. The texture was pretty much perfect given the combination of the two. I haven't had a donair in years, since I was last visiting Halifax. I saw this recipe in someone's recipe box, and my mouth started to water as my head filled with memories of the meal. Goodness, this is delicious. Spot on. Exactly what I was craving. I could hardly muster the resolve to let the meat cool for slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I just moved to Prince Albert from Alberta and I LOVE donairs and here honestly you ask most people where to get one and they dont even know what the word means!!!! So desperat for a donair(my husband loves them too) I tried this recipe and it is just like going home!!!!! AMAZING!!!! I was skeptical at first but as it cooks it smells just like the ones back home!!! So YUMMY!!! I aslo made my own pitas i found a great recipe on a website called amideastfeast.com they were perfect. Anyone who is second guessing to try this one...TRY IT!! super easy and you'd swear your at a donair shop. Like one of the other reviewers i wrapped mine in paper(i used baking paper) so its easy to eat and less messy. Enjoy...i know we did. Oh and the sauce is amazing to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was a very tasty recipe. All the family loved it, even my picky eaters! This will be a family favorite from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! All of the donair-loving men in my life go nuts for these. :) I've even tried making them with ground turkey (a bit healthier) and as long as it's got a little extra cayenne in there, no one's the wiser. Awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMarieBee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
A Halifax classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbignell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
oh ya :) thank you thank you thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I use this recipe for the sauce and it is great I find, however, that it gets very thin and runny after the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States