Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Tastes just like I remember all those years ago. Thinly slice the meat and fry it in a pan to crisp/warm it before eating and then run the pita quickly under water and throw into the hot pan for a few seconds to soften it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INUKSHUK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I assume this is the Canadian version of doner kebabs, but I tried not to compare the two at all when we ate it. I cut some of the salt, and the meat turned out wonderful-really moist and flavorful. I wasn't a huge fan of the sauce though, I thought there was too much garlic powder (and I NEVER think there is too much garlic!), but since I've never had one of these, I can't compare it's authenticity. Mine never thickened, so it ran off the pita instead of adding a zip to the meat. It was still pretty good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
OMG so excellent! Thank you for sharing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was amazing. I had to stop myself from eating the whole loaf!!! Instead of baking it in the oven, I wrapped it in tinfoil with a few holes in the bottom and baked on the upper rack in the barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
These were amazing! I was not going to make the sauce as sweet sauce is not my thing, but i figured if it was disgusting i would make some tsaziki. It was actually ok. Everyone else thought the sauce was really good though. I will be making these again and again. My husband wants me to make a really big one so he can carve it on a rotisserie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is the real deal! The only change I made was poultry seasoning instead of Italian seasoning (I was out of Italian). It turned out so good, I keep making it that way. TIP: I use my kitchen aid with the paddle attachment, and beat it or 3 to 5 minutes and get the exact texture. TIP: I have also turned these into hburger patties, grilled them on the BBQ and serve it on a bun with the donair sauce, tomatoes and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
We LOVED this. I made the sauce as listed, but made a few changes: I halved the sauce, used heavy cream, and added more vinegar. I think I used 5 tsp white vinegar for 6 oz heavy cream. I left the other measurements (of everything) the same. I served this in pitas (which fell apart, because I steamed mine in the oven, bad idea) with lettuce and red onion (which I pre-soaked in ice water for about 3 hours, to cut the bite). Everything worked exactly as described; the sauce thickened beautifully in the fridge (I did let it fridge for about 3 hours). The interesting thing about the donair sauce is this is the EXACT same stuff that Mexican restaurants around here give you with tortilla chips! I never knew how it was made, and every time I've asked I've been directed to cheese sauces, so this was a FANTASTIC find! (I have no idea why Mexican restaurants in Virginia serve tortilla chips with Eastern Canadian Lebanese sauces, but I was super glad to discover this recipe!) My husband proclaimed this sandwich "super tasty" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Based on previous reviews I did a combo of the food processor and knead/throwing-which was indeed quite fun! The texture was good; it sliced thinly after being refrigerated for a day. I doubled the spices, which might be overkill (and I like to really spice up my food). I used all ground round, but I think 1/2 ground lamb and 1/2 ground round would be tastier/more authentic. Fun recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
The meat is amazing. Tasted just like any I've had from the best Donair shops. I would recommend at least doubling the recipe as it doesn't make much. It also freezes well so I think I'd make a few batches to keep in the freezer for quick meals. I sliced it cold the day after making it and pan fried it briefly. If you don't feel like the meat throwing workout, just use a food processor. My second batch done in the f.p. yielded just the same texture. Everyone was raving over this. It only gets 4 stars because I had issues with the sauce. I followed the directions to the letter and it was way too runny. The taste was spot on though. It also make far too much for the amount of meat, that is, unless you like your sandwich *really* heavy on the sauce. Thanks for the recipe and making our tastebuds do the happy dance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This recipe is perfect! I think it's even better buying one. I extracted my husband from his hometown Edmonton, AB to Seattle, WA and his world would be complete with this and Timmys each morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States