Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I just tried this recipe. It's delicious but would cut back on the salt. Found it a tad too salty. My husband is diabetic so used 2/3 cups of Splenda and thickened up nice. I did the taste test and added a bit more vinegar. I prefer a sweet and sour taste. Don't know why people are having trouble with the sauce. Follow the instructions and it comes out nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Being that I am from Halifax and living out west, you could say that I am a little picky about my donairs. In fact, I don't buy them here because you can't get a good Halifax donair, until now! Try this recipe folks. Its the closest thing you will find to a slice of the east coast! Make sure not to cheap out on your pita bread either. Buy the good stuff and steam it in a frying pan with a touch of oil before rolling up! Enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Good for when you can't get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made “Dash’s Donair” last night and we loved it! I made the meat just as the recipe calls for only tripling the recipe as I have 4 boys to feed. It was quite a hit; I am giving it only 4 stars because we did not care for the sauce. The sauce did pull together nicely, only stirring a few times after the vinegar was added as others said. However it was way too sweet for our tastes, but we gave it a shot. We are use to gyros here and thought the meat was very similar to what we get at our local Greek Restaurants. I also made the “Tzatziki” sauce on this site as a back up to the Donair sauce and we loved it. We will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Very delicious! I would have liked the sauce to be a bit thicker but I'll eat it as is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Needed a little taste of home and this hit the spot, thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Loved it! It was simple to make, cost effective, and delicious. The meat was spot on. However, after reading the reviews, I decided not to make the sweet sauce and went with a Tzatziki sauce that worked great with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
We're ex-pats from Nova Scotia to Alberta---and BOY do we ever crave 'real' donairs!! This recipe is spot on! I use red chili flakes in mine, and white pepper as well as black. We like spicy in our house. I often double (or triple) the recipe and freeze the raw loaves for my sweetheart to bake when needed. Also--for something different, I sometimes add 1tsp of "Bay spice" which is equal amounts of Ground bay leaves, coriander and fennel seed. This adds a bit of 'sausage-like' flavour which we also enjoy. Just a little change for a some variety. Thanks Dash!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Henshaw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I have only been to Canada once, but had something along these lines while I was there and wondered what it was! I love southern food, but this sauce is nothing like a gravy. It is tangy, sweet, and creamy all in one- don't be afraid to try it, you Americans! Now, I am giving this 4 stars instead of 5 because I was disappointed in how little the sauce actually "thickened"-- I whisked for a good while and followed directions but it didn't do the trick for me. I would have preferred a thicker sauce to the runny, messier one I got, but it still tasted great. If you are not wanting to wait nearly 2 hours for this meal, try what I did as a shortcut: Thinly slice sirloin or some other high-grade meat, and season as you would the ground beef in the recipe. Cook on the stove top and then add to sandwich bread or wraps or whatever you like. I like it with some lettuce, chopped onion, and tomatoes. Add the sauce, and enjoy! It's unique and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Excellent..the family love it! Just made 3 for the freezer and only 2 made it there!!! didnt make the sauce for it as we use hot sauce instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States