Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I guess I'm just not a donair fan, this is the first time i've ever tried one and the sauce just didn't work for me. I didn't like the mix of intense sweetness w/garlic. just wasn't my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Great recipe, however not identical to the ones that I buy... that is to be expected though since you are using ground beef and an oven instead of a rotisserie! Worth trying if you're craving donair and don't live near a place that sells them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Amazing - love it and have made it again and again. The only thing missing is the garlic cheese fingers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Yes! This is it! We made this earlier in the day and found it just not thick enough after 4 tsp of vinegar added slowly. So I added a 5th tsp and that made it perfect for us. With the meat, I had enough to make one small loaf but used the same amount of spices (i like punch) it was fun throwing the meat! For now, the loaf sits in the fridge smelling good but chillin out till dinner. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
My family and I love donairs, but don't buy them all that often or buy the pre-made ingredients to make them at hoe because it is so expensive. A friend told me about this recipe. Wow. It is amazing. Really easy, quick and inexpensive to make and looks and tastes just like the kind you buy. I don't recommend using lean or extra lean round beef though. It tends to be a bit drier than I would prefer, but medium is perfect. The secret is in the pounding and throwing of the meat. It gives it that perfect consistancy. Plus it's fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
this is the best ever. the sauce was difficult so use the sweetened milk with vinegar and garlic it works perfectly.thanks Dash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Very, very good. I mixed it by hand only and the texture was very good. I would add more garlic next time though. The sauce was very thin and runny, but I used fat free milk and splenda so that may be why. The flavour was great though, and I just ate it open faced (onion and tomato on top) with a fork and knife due to the messiness of it all (I split the pita in half to reduce the carb intake as well). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
No doubt in my mind. This is a five star recipe. And it's so easy. Used to live in Halifax so have had some great donairs. This one is right up there with the ones from Halifax. Wouldn't change a thing except to triple the amount in order to have some to freeze for a second meal. Huge thanks for this recipe. Round two of this review - made these a second time but multiplied the recipe times 5 so have some made ahead. One of the comments was "This is a home run!" Didn't change a thing other than making a larger batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is so awesome! My tips: Use a food processor to mutilate the meat properly, that is so important. Also, use a meat thermometer so the meat isn't dry from overcooking. And, mix spices together first, seems unimportant, but DO IT! And homemade WW pita is a must.... wraps up so nice. THANKS FOR THIS RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Good recipe for one of my favorite treats. Living in Atlanta and I can't get to Bashi's or the Pizza Corner to get one. Everyone is right about the sauce being thin. The secret is to have almost the same proportions of sugar and vinegar as you are trying to make a suspension of the milk fat in the condensed milk. When I worked at a pizzeria in Halifax we'd make it as follows: 2 12 oz can condensed milk 3/4 cup sugar 1/2 cup white vinegar 2 tblsp garlic power 1 tblsp white pepper Mix all the ingredients except vinegar together. Once mixed, start stirring and quickly add the vinegar in and stir roundonly 2 or 4 times more. Cover and refrigerate for at least 4 hour or overnight to let it setup and for the flavours to meld. Try donair pizza with the sauce as the base instead of pizza sauce. Oven baked donair subs rock too - cover the m with mozzarella and add the sauce at the end. Mmmmhhhmmm! Another great use (as every pizza shop in Halifax sells these) is to make cheese fingers out of a pizza dough with garlic butter and cheese and dip in the sauce. Last great alternative is the "donairpep". Add pepperoni when you are frying the meat up, it adds a nice touch. You can also add green peppers, mushroom, what ever you like to a make a "loaded" donair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States