Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Made this tonight. Very tasty and so easy to make. I triple the recipe. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I am originally from Nova Scotia, donairs are common food for us Eastcoasters, this recipe is a true "Halifax" donair recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nevin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I did not make the sauce part of this recipe because I live in eastern canada, and bought it instead. However, I was looking for an alternative to the expensive prepackaged meat. This is great! A teensy bit too salty, and I recommend using cracked black pepper as it is more authentic. Overall, however, very delicious and donair-y. I formed patties on skewers and barbequed them, as I didn't have the time to allow it to bake. Worked out fine. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Jax
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
The meat was really good – tasted a lot like the lamb in gyros because of all the spices and mixing process the ground beef goes through. I did not feel like this recipe was complete. If I hadn’t researched Donairs, or read the reviews, I wouldn’t have known to lightly fry up the thin slices of meat and serve it on a pita. I think this should have been part of the recipe for people who have never heard of a Donair like me. I used a Bosch mixer to knead the meat and it turned out great. The Donair sauce thickened just fine (I added the vinegar all at once like other reviewers said to do). I made three sauces – a tzatziki sauce, a red greek meat sauce and the Donair sauce. We liked all of the sauces - they were just different from each other. The Donair sauce is sweet and garlicky, the tzatziki sauce is cool and refreshing and the meat sauce is savory. I realize if you use a different sauce it probably doesn’t qualify as a Donair, but the meat does go well with other sauces. We will definitely make the meat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I know this recipe is not for gyro meat but that is what I used it for. Instead of this sauce, I used Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce found on here. It turned out delicious. The only comment I would make is too use a high fat beef like 80/20. I think it holds the flavors better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tssunshine24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TurtleLove
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
OMG! I just finished making and eating this wonderful recipe! Having grown up in NS, and worked in Donair & Pizza shop I was excited to have this small taste of home. After reading some reviews, I can not stress enough that the recipe calls for evaporated milk NOT condensed milk which is correct. To make the sauce you need to whisk the milk, garlic powder and sugar until the sugar is incorporated. Then begin whisking quickly and add the vinegar all at once and only whisk 4-5 more times and stop! If you continue to stir the sauce will liquefy. Let the sauce mixture sit and the flavors meld while you prep the sandwich. On a hot skillet fry the meat to heat and run the pita under water and heat it as well. Note that the pita, and meat are served hot, but the sauce, tomatoes, and onions are cold. There was enough sauce to garnish at least 6-7 donairs and for us the meat only made 3...so I would recommend that you at least triple the meat portion of the recipe! Thanks for a taste of home!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miskyn
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I can't give full stars because I altered it slightly. I mixed Ground Turkey, Pork and Beef together and mixed it all in my Kitchen Aide then followed the recipe otherwise. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is awesome. Made a double batch and froze one. When I used the second one I made a sauce of 1 cup mayo; 1/4 cup sugar; 1 tbsp vinegar and garlic powder to taste. Warmed up thinly sliced Donair meat in microwave and melted cheddar cheese on top. Warmed up tortillas and put together. It was even better the second time around. Next time I will put tomatoes and onions in wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoyt, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This recipe is AWESOME! It was so easy to make and the donairs tasted exactly like the ones that my husband and I drool over from a local restaurant! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennmack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This recipe is amazing! My husband (from Halifax) and I have been using it for the past 8 months and it is both of our favourite meals. I am vegetarian so I use veggie ground round for mine and just add the spices to it instead (without salt). my hubby makes the meat version and it's turned out every time. The sauce is also delicious and anyone who says otherwise is not making it right...it takes some technique...this is how we do it: -must use full fat evaporated milk -mix in sugar and garlic completely until sugar is no longer granular -begin whisking the mixture to get liquid moving and pour in 1/4 c of vinegar AT ONCE -ONLY STIR 3 or 4 more times and let the chemical reaction occur and the mixture thickens (on its own)...this is key!! The sauce turns out perfectly this way...so we recommend following the steps exactly if you want the same great results that we get! ***also make sure to wet the pita under the tap and sear it on a hot pan so that the pita is moist and pliable for adding the donair ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States