Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
We just had this for dinner and we weren't disappointed. The meat turned out really yummy and I have always wondered how they made the sauce. Now I know. My sauce was a little on the thin side so I will have to make some adjustments there next time. I doubled this recipe thinking I could freeze the left over for another night. Yea right. My husband and my daughter (who doesn't like Donair, but love these) had seconds. Even my 3 yr old loved this and asked for more. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing Dashriprock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Fabulous! Great traditional Donair :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Important: REALLY REALLY WORK THE LOAF!! I'm a big guy, ex-baseball pitcher. I use a large wok and SLAM the meat mixture into the wok at least 40 times. It's worth it for the texture. You MUST USE A BROILING PAN, unless you have a spit rotisserie. I've made this recipe several times and added some secret ingredients to give it a personal touch. Thinking of opening my own restaurant, based on the rave-reviews.. and for the fact that you can't get a donair in Montreal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I am in culinary arts at Vancouver Island University and it was my job to make something for the highschool kids. I pulled out this recipe because I have always wanted to try it and its much easier at school with all of the ingredients at your disposal. It was amazing. a huge hit... we sold out and the kids and teachers loved it. the only thing i would suggest is making it a larger thinner loaf as opposed to a heavfy thick loaf. it took really long to cook and was dried out because of this. thanks again. this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candacewyscaver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Loved this recipe. Used equal parts ground lamb and ground beef for meat. Also only used 1 teaspoon of garlic powder in donair sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Born in Nova Scotia, lived in NB and can't live without my donairs ! Simply divine ! Paradise ! lol Good thing we have these recipes or we'd be flying to NS just to get some ! I'm in Quebec and the only ones I found here are nothing like a real donair. Not even worth buying. This pizza place says their donairs are like Pizza Time but NOT at all ! sorry for rambling on .. have mine in the oven right now and just wanted to say that last time I made some, I made my own pita bread with a recipe I found on Interent and they were so GOOD ! Well worth the work. They were soft and chewy like the ones at Greco, nothing like the store bought pitas, but then it's more work to get what you want. lol * ok now I tried this one and this is the best recipe for the meat, didn't try the sauce but the meat had the same texture as in Pizza places. I do agree on doubling the spices or adding a bit more if you like it spicy. as for the Italian seasoning, I personally didn't like it much and would cut down or leave it out. Gives a different taste then to what I'm accustomed to. Also, I always add some paprika and find it even tastier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Good but not as good as I thought it might be...but still very tasty meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
We made this tonight and it is bang on. I followed the recipe exactly and it was exactly like the donair I had on pizza corner in Halifax last summer. We will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Made this tonight. Very tasty and so easy to make. I triple the recipe. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I am originally from Nova Scotia, donairs are common food for us Eastcoasters, this recipe is a true "Halifax" donair recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nevin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States