Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
What a wonderful recipe!!! The first time I made it, I followed the recipe to the "T" , it was good, but lacking in depth flavor for our taste (I like a heavily spiced donair meat). So I made the following adjustments: 1 tsp salt (kept the same, perfect amount) 2.5 tsp oregano 1 tsp flour 1.5 tsp fresh cracked black pepper (fresh makes a huge difference in flavor) 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning 2.5 tsp garlic powder 2.5 tsp onion powder 1/2 tsp cayenne In addition I added: 1 tsp ground cumin 1 tsp red pepper flakes The sauce is bang on! the first time I tried it, it was pretty watery. Don't be afraid to add a touch more vinegar... it's the vinegar that thickens the sauce - but as other reviewers have noted... don't stir too much after adding. Each batch ends up different, so add another 1/2 tsp of vinegar at a time stirring slowly until you get the consistency you like for the sauce. Thanks again Dash, we will never go out to buy a donair ever again!! OH BTW... the leftover meat is AMAZING for pizza. Make your favorite pizza dough, use the donair sauce instead of regular pizza sauce, layer on your thinly sliced donair meat, and add some shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
It's been a long time since i had a donair this good. I use sweetened condensed milk, no added sugar, and add 1/4 cup vinegar. Smoother the donair meat in sauce and make it nice and messy. Wrap the whole think in tinfoil and enjoy. It is meant to be messy, drippy and fun to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickensoop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great recipe but had trouble with the sauce. I used fat-free evaported milk and could not get the sauce to thicken. I used more than the 4 tsp. suggested. Next time will try regular evaporated milk and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
We use it as a gyro: same basic seasonings, but with tzatziki sauce (also on this site), lettuce, tomato, and onion on flatbread from Trader Joe's. When I mix one pound of lamb and one pound of ground beef together with the spices, it tastes like it came from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is the best tasting sauce recipe out there. Instead of using the entire can, try using only 1 cup of the evoparated mil instead. The sauce thickens faster and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
The meat looked and tasted awesome. I'm still always surprised when I make something I've only eaten in restaurants and it actually comes out tasting exactly like it's supposed to. I'm only giving it 4 stars because I didn't care for the the sauce. I followed it exactly and it set up nice and thick but it was soo sweet and sugary it turned my stomach. And my husband refused to eat it and ate the rest of his plain instead of with the sauce. I had to go buy some tzatziki so we could eat the leftovers and that was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki0310

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and everyone thought it was beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Wow! This is EXCELLENT!!! Hint: Do let the meat sit in refrigerator at least overnight before serving. I tried it straight out of the oven and just wasn't that impressed. However, tried again the next day and WOW!!! really great. I didn't have great results with the sauce though. Too runny for my liking. Nothing compares to the PIZZA DELIGHT donair sauce so I did some searching and finally found something comparable.... use 1 can sweetened condensed milk, 1/3C white vinegar and 1-2tsp garlic powder (or to your liking). Combine the garlic powder and milk together well then slowly about 1/3 at a time add the vinegar, let sit a few seconds then just stir to combine, let sit another few seconds and continue until all the vinegar has been combined. Refrigerate it for at least 30mins before serving. So delicious! I used store bought greek style pitas (which are thicker and more like pizza dough) then followed another reviewers idea for wetting them well then frying them up in an oiled frying pan to warm and soften them up. Good job Dash! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalhousie, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
The meat was amazing! but I found the donair sauce too sweet, I will probably will omit any added sugar next time I prefer more of the garlic flavor to come through. Overall delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJCee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
great donair meat... it was just like the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee McCloskey

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 111-120 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States