Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I am a Nova Scotian girl... Born and raised. Have been in the USA for 10 years craving Donairs and going home once every year or two and indulging in a large with extra sauce. I found this recipe and this has satisfied my cravings on about 5 occasions. My children and boyfriend love it! One tip..don't substitute the canned milk for no name. Use carnation only! I usually triple the recipe and use about 2 lbs of ground beef and 1 lb of ground turkey. Really work the meat well. I use my hands and fist, the. Work it into two loves and put them on a baking pan with aluminum foil. I flip the meat about half way through the cooking time. If u have a electric meat cutting knife I would use it to slice the meat once it's done. I then throw it in a frying pan to crisp it up a bit. Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Earle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I'm sorry for the low rating. There's nothing wrong with the recipe itself, it all worked out as I assume it should have, but we just didn't care for this at all. I was intrigued by the recipe having never heard of it, and we love gyros, so I wanted to try this. I followed to the letter, but there's too much oregano for our tastes, and the sauce...well, it's definitely not to our tastes. Far too sweet and very strange when you aren't accustomed to it, I guess. If you love these, you'll love this recipe, I'm sure, but we couldn't eat them and ended up eating egg salad on our pitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clinton
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I am not from the eastern provinces and have never had Donair so I didn't know what to expect. I ran across this recipe while looking for something to make with ground beef. I had fun throwing the meat down but was a little dubious of the amount of sugar in the sauce. The end product was really nice, but a little sweet. If you don't like the sweetness you can eat the meat without the sauce and then it is more like a gyro. My meat was a little drier than I prefer so next time I will shorten the baking time by about 5 minutes. Thanks for the fun experience. Next time I am in the Maritime Provinces I will try one at a Donair shop to see if mine was authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I have made this a few times. My husband and son love it. Love being able to satisfy the craving without needing to go to the local pizza place for one. Meat keeps well in the freezer. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn-Paul Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
House smelled great while cooking but would not feed 4 adults. Was uncertain about the sweet sauce but everyone seemed to like it. More than half of the sauce was leftover. Served sliced in pitas with spinach, tomatoes, cucumber, and red onion and mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Great recipe, and flavours are bang on. I modified it to my taste and preferences by tripling the seasoning. I then put the meat mixture into a stand mixer and mixed on high speed for 5 minutes to beat up the proteins and get the dense sausage texture that the good donair shops have. I then formed the meat into a round cake pan that I greased and really pressed down to compact the meat even further. I put that under a 500 degree broiler for about thirty minutes flipping halfway through to really sear the loaf and get the maillard reaction going. It basically looked like a large hamburger patty with nice crispy bits on the outside when it was done. I let it cool for 10 minutes and sliced thin with a razor sharp knife. Served the meat on toasted flat bread with the donair sauce (made with half the sugar and a little extra garlic), fresh tomato, diced red onion, and aged white cheddar. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
hey Dash! Thanks for the brownie points I scored with my Nova Scotian Boyfriend this new Years EVE! He said it's Halifax in his mouth! I myself being from New West (B.C) thought I had had a donair, but boy was I wrong! I think I had been having the greek and middle eastern variations. This turned out so goood, we both couldn't believe it! I prepared the meat and popped it into the oven. While the meat baked, we went off for a dog walk. When we returned an hour later the house smelled exactly like a donair shop. This made me so excited when making the sauce that I forgot I wasnt supposed to stir it too much so it did end up being a little runny like fruit yogurt, but was still amazing. I tried to combat the runny-ness by chilling it. It did thicken up a bit, but still did not meet my thickness expectation. I can't wait to make this again AS A MATTER OF FACT we have declared saturdays Donair Day :). Thank you! thank you! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Amazing donairs, just like the ones you get in Nova Scotia,YUMMY. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I share this with all my Nova Scotia friends who have moved away and it's always a hit. Also if you have a jerky gun and a food dehydrator make yourself some donair jerky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graham Matheson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States