Dar's Super Savory Sauerkraut Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Creamy, tangy, cheesy. I was looking for a recipe that had sauerkraut and hash browns together, like I had at a Dutch friends house as a young adult. I made it with caraway seeds, which I love, but I wouldn't next time, as it dominated the dish. Not something for kids as it is too sour for their sensitive palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Warren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Yum. Everything fit into a 7 x 11 pan and cooked it a tad longer. I put parsley on top, mainly for color. Next time, perhaps I will put bell pepper inside or something green .... the color is pale. I used red onions. I used 1 1/2 C. Sauerkraut and it could use more. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This turned out delicious! The only thing I changed was that I used an extra-sharp cheddar cheese (just by preference, definitely not required). We looked forward to the leftovers of this side dish more than the main meal XD. Will definitely be making this again and hope to have an opportunity to bring this to a potluck to show off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemBot

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Almost any recipe with saurkraut gets 5 stars from me! This was really good! I put it on top of some ground pork & while the color of the dish is very bland - I really like it! Definitely DO NOT skimp on the potatoes! I didn't have enough (which I found out about right when I was combining everything) and it turned out a bit runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Turned out awesome! Made with and pepper pork roast surrounded with potatoes parsnip and carrots with saurkraut caraway sprinkle salt and pepper covered and cooked at 325 5 hours - awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
All I can say is AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I liked this, but I wish I would have rinsed the kraut just a bit as the sourness really came thru the next day. I did add the whole can of kraut cuz I didn't have any plans for it otherwise, so that could have been part of it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I was so skeptical of this dish because I am NOT a saurkraut fan. The only thing I did differently was add more cheddar cheese than it called for. This came out bubbly, cheesy, and SO DELICIOUS!! I loved the very edges of the casserole that browned nicely in the pan. I find any excuse to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
It seems odd that we didn't like this given the ingredients. The only changes were to shred four potatoes instead the pre-packaged hashabrowns (I only seen the shredded variety around here a handful of times anyway) and one chicken bouillon cube for the loose kind. I forgot the butter, but didn't miss it. We thought this was too salty, and the caraway gave it a weird taste (according to my fiance). This could easily be tweaked to skip the salt, reduce the caraway and add some onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States