Darra's Famous Tuna Waldorf Salad Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I just didn't care for this tuna salad. Maybe it was the curry, maybe it was the shallots, or maybe it was just because it didn't taste like my mouth thinks tuna salad should taste. I gave it a "3" because my husband said it was "pretty good." Even at that, I ended up throwing some of it away. Sorry, Darra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Great recipe! I didnt have apples and I didnt add much relish (I dont like relish) but everything else added made it taste different and wonderful. Thank you for a new take on an old favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I've made this so many time and am now finally writing a review. I love this salad! To make it healthier, I replace half of the mayo with plain yogurt. Because I like a crunch, I add more nuts. My favourite apple to use in this filling is Gala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was, quite simply, the best tuna salad sandwich I've had in my whole life. I doubled the recipe but still only used one apple and no nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I've made this several times now and the whole family just loves it. I've tried it on cheese bread and croissants - delicious either way. I double the recipe just so we can have leftovers! Tuna sandwiches are no longer boring. Thanks for a terrific and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I scaled the recipe to 2 servings. Only used 1/8 cup of mayo, left out the shallots, subbed 1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed for the walnuts, used canned albacore tuna in water and only a few dashes of curry powder. The apple, curry and nutty taste add a new twist to a tuna fish sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I have made this twice now, 2nd time by mistake. Just to overwhelming with curry, that is all you can taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
OUTSTANDING!! Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was so delicious! The hint of curry is what I think really makes the sandwich. I used canned chicken (about twice the amount called for) instead of tuna but used the rest of the ingredients in the recipe, except the cheese. Served it with toasted pita pockets which I think really cut down on the fat grams. Thanks for such a great posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was one terrific tuna salad. I made it exactly as written except for the shallot, and served in half a ripe papaya. Cool and tasty! I'm doubling the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 71-80 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States