Darra's Famous Tuna Waldorf Salad Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is definitely an adult tuna salad sandwich. A real change-up if you want a "kicked up" sandwich. However, if you're going to be within 3' of anyone after eating this sandwich, I would suggest cutting the shallot & curry amount in at least half! All I could taste was the shallot and the curry. Good, but couldn't tell there was any tuna in it. I don't know where others got that this is bland? or that their small children liked it??? Not bad, but not a keeper for me either. Made exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Neat change from regular boring tuna salad. This also makes one can of tuna go quite a long way. It's good just the way it is with some lettuce and tomato rather than in a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I just didn't care for this tuna salad. Maybe it was the curry, maybe it was the shallots, or maybe it was just because it didn't taste like my mouth thinks tuna salad should taste. I gave it a "3" because my husband said it was "pretty good." Even at that, I ended up throwing some of it away. Sorry, Darra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Great recipe! I didnt have apples and I didnt add much relish (I dont like relish) but everything else added made it taste different and wonderful. Thank you for a new take on an old favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I've made this so many time and am now finally writing a review. I love this salad! To make it healthier, I replace half of the mayo with plain yogurt. Because I like a crunch, I add more nuts. My favourite apple to use in this filling is Gala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was, quite simply, the best tuna salad sandwich I've had in my whole life. I doubled the recipe but still only used one apple and no nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I've made this several times now and the whole family just loves it. I've tried it on cheese bread and croissants - delicious either way. I double the recipe just so we can have leftovers! Tuna sandwiches are no longer boring. Thanks for a terrific and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I scaled the recipe to 2 servings. Only used 1/8 cup of mayo, left out the shallots, subbed 1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed for the walnuts, used canned albacore tuna in water and only a few dashes of curry powder. The apple, curry and nutty taste add a new twist to a tuna fish sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I have made this twice now, 2nd time by mistake. Just to overwhelming with curry, that is all you can taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States