Darra's Famous Tuna Waldorf Salad Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I have made this tuna salad probably close to 15+ times and it is exceptional. I pretty much follow the recipe verbatim, and throw in extra nuts, apples, or tuna based on my whim of the day. The only other substitution that I might alter is that I will use pecans instead of walnuts, all just dependent on what I have in the cupboard. I make this for my family and have even served it at luncheons. It is a hit with my 3 and under kids, and a hit with my 13 and 21 year old as well. This is a "gourmet" tuna salad without spending tons of time in the kitchen, and relieves the oft boring regular tuna salad. The blends and hints of spices is wonderful without overwhelming the recipe and they compliment each other surprisingly well. I have served this to the teachers at my children's school with overwhelming applause from the teachers and staff. I bring the croissants and cheese in, but also offer (usually Boston) lettuce to the teachers so they can make a "lettuce roll sandwiches" as a lower calorie option. Kudos to Darra for saving us all from boring, dry tuna fish salad served the old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Excellent recipe! Everything balances perfectly and is yummy. I add tomatoes to my sandwich, but that's all that I change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Fantastic! I added some fresh ground black pepper and ate it wrapped in lettuce leaves instead of on bread to cut down on calories. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shamong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seogwipo, Cheju-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Very good. First I didn't have the sweet relish but I added dried cranberries but then I went and go the relish and oh my did that make the dish taste so much better. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Very good tuna salad! I tend to half the apple, otherwise it starts to taste more like a fruit salad with a little tuna in it. I also leave out the curry and half the mayo. (That's more of a personal choice though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Strange combination of ingredients, but it was really tasty. I omitted the curry, only because I don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I've been using this recipe for 4 years now. I hardly ever make tuna salad sandwiches any other way. Sometimes I add pecans or grapes for an added twist. This week I plan on adding pasta to make a salad instead of a sandwich filling. This is a great recipe, the curry adds a wonderful kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I served this to my mother and grandmother for mothers day. They thought it was such a special treat, and it was!! The apples, nuts, celery and curry are such a wonderful and interesting flavor. I absolutely loved it, and so did my guests. The sandwiches also looked beautiful piled high on a pretty platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This was very tasty. Left out the nuts because of a guest with allergies, but will definitely add them in next time. Used fontina cheese instead of the swiss which was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Absolutely fantastic. I'm NOT a fish fan but since I gave up meat for lent I've had to be creative. Now I just wish I'd tried this recipe a lot earlier. I cannot overstate how wonderful this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States