Darra's Famous Tuna Waldorf Salad Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I scaled the recipe to 2 servings. Only used 1/8 cup of mayo, left out the shallots, subbed 1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed for the walnuts, used canned albacore tuna in water and only a few dashes of curry powder. The apple, curry and nutty taste add a new twist to a tuna fish sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I have made this twice now, 2nd time by mistake. Just to overwhelming with curry, that is all you can taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
OUTSTANDING!! Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was so delicious! The hint of curry is what I think really makes the sandwich. I used canned chicken (about twice the amount called for) instead of tuna but used the rest of the ingredients in the recipe, except the cheese. Served it with toasted pita pockets which I think really cut down on the fat grams. Thanks for such a great posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was one terrific tuna salad. I made it exactly as written except for the shallot, and served in half a ripe papaya. Cool and tasty! I'm doubling the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
By far the best Tuna Salad filling I have ever tasted. I didn't have curry, so I substituted paprika, and I had dill relish instead of sweet. Used not quite 1/2 c mayo for 7 1/2 oz of tuna. This is definately on my list for quick lunches. Thanks Darra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bear River City, Utah, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
absolutely wonderful! i will never make regular tuna salad again. i didn't have all the ingredients and instead used water based tuna (2- 6oz cans), regular yellow mustard, red apple, no celery, and no nuts. it was delicious anyway. i can't wait to try it with the suggested ingredients. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tobysmomma

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
It was okay. I prefer the simple tuna salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Husband and I weren't real impressed with this recipe. It was kind of bland. I just didn't care for the taste of salad. I didn't use nut in the recipe because husband doesn't like them but I don't feel they would have helped. Just really didn't care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Wow, what a pleasant change. I really enjoyed this and so did my husband. I didn't have sweet relish, so I chopped up some dill pickles and used pecans instead of walnuts (its what I had on hand). What a yummy yummy sammitch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISTYZ23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States