Darra's Famous Tuna Waldorf Salad Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Absolutely delicious! I've made this twice and served it on Date Nut Raisin Bread. I prefer using green onions in place of the shallot, but excellent either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I love this recipe! The only change I made was toasted almonds in place of the walnuts. The croissant and cheese make it even better. Awesome for luncheons and I also make the recipe with chicken or turkey. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I work at a sandwich shop, already make great tuna, and made this with poached chicken. Made enough for 30 sandwiches, and we sold out in less than two days. Didn't add pickles or shallots, but used red onion, and the rest of the recipe. Have to make more tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Very good and a touch of European dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Okay I was hesitant since it is after all tuna salad, with or without great reviews.. but this was really good! It tasted completely different than the standard old tuna salad that I was SO VERY TIRED OF. I used regular white onion instead of a shallot and a mix of light and fat free mayo to reduce the fat. Even with those modifications it was still great, can't imagine how good the full fat version with the added croissant would taste. One thing I would do however (like those before me) is add the extra tuna. It was great without the addition but then you tend to have more stuff then tuna so I would use 9 oz. instead. Whatever your preference it's great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
My hubby and I loved this. I don't do fish, so I subbed canned chicken for the tuna. I also prefer pecans instead of walnuts, so I threw those in instead. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Good recipe. For variation, use a low fat mayo-type dressing, omit curry and add a dollop of mango chutney. If you like poppy seeds add them. Nix on the fatty croissant - pita or wholewheat bread is best. I really enjoy reading reviews. I decide on using a recipe based on users' comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Great tuna recipe! I made the following changes... 7 oz. bag of albacore tuna instead of oil tuna, honey crisp apple, pecans instead of walnuts, 3 medjool dates, diced instead of sweet relish Served open face on toasted whole wheat english muffin. Garnished with 2 pecans halves. Great served with a bowl of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
An excellent sandwich recipe! Gives a great twist to plain ol' tuna salad - very crunchy. I used a honeycrisp apple instead of grannysmith and we did not use the croissants, we ate it in pita pockets instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
When I first saw the ingredients, I thought this would be really gross, but with all the great reviews, I had to try it. I am so glad I did! It is wonderful! I modified it some to be low fat. Used fat free Miracle Whip, tuna packed in water, left out the shallot and the swiss cheese and served it on bread. I will be making this A LOT! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States