Darra's Famous Tuna Waldorf Salad Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I served this to my mother and grandmother for mothers day. They thought it was such a special treat, and it was!! The apples, nuts, celery and curry are such a wonderful and interesting flavor. I absolutely loved it, and so did my guests. The sandwiches also looked beautiful piled high on a pretty platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This was very tasty. Left out the nuts because of a guest with allergies, but will definitely add them in next time. Used fontina cheese instead of the swiss which was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Absolutely fantastic. I'm NOT a fish fan but since I gave up meat for lent I've had to be creative. Now I just wish I'd tried this recipe a lot earlier. I cannot overstate how wonderful this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This was great! I used non-fat yoghurt instead of mayo and made it a very light salad. I also used baguette bread instead of croissant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I made this exactly like the recipe but left out the shallot because I couldn't find any at our store. Next time I hope to try it with that in it. My husband and kids loved it! I was worried about the mustard but it gave it a nice tangy flavor. The curry was great in it also. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Great tuna- very chunky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
okay, okay I couldn't submit this with out a rating--just a nice adaptation to this recipe that is good this time of year! I substituted left over turkey for the tuna and used a green onion instead of a shallot as I am out of shallots. As per my own preferance for chicken salads, I also added some powdered chipotle pepper. YUM! This is a very adaptable recipe and I look forward to using some more left over turkey to make a new batch only this time with pecans instead of walnuts as I feel that pecans go better with turkey (and I love pecans!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I was a little skeptical considering the ingredients, especially the mustard (have never used it in tuna salad!)but it so so delicious! My husband really loves it. Made it on large croissants with crisp lettuce and pepper jack cheese for our first boat fishing outing and they were wonderful! Thanks Darra for a great, creative recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
What a hit this was. I did add a bit more curry and a touch of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cowichan Bay, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This is the BEST tuna sandwich filling ever! The Granny Smith apple, shallot, and walnuts make this recipe special. I used a tablespoon of curry powder because its one of my favorite spices. It tastes even better the next day. Thanks Darra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States