Darn Good Mashed Taters! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
What can I say, these are some really "Darn Good Mashed Taters!!!" Sometimes the recipe title just fits to a "T" and this is one of those times! I cut the recipe in half and used red potatoes that I mashed with the skins. I used Land O Lakes light butter and used a mix of half and half and skim milk. I eyeballed that to get the consistency I wanted so I probably used a bit more. Overall, a great side dish because there's nothing like classic comfort food and what better than taters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I cut this recipe in half, used organic reds, kept the onion/garlic powder the same amount and only used a pinch of sea salt. I didn't need the full amount of cream. I used fat free half-n-half that I warmed to almost scalding and added it until it was the right consistancy. Great with meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
These were really good! Nice and creamy with great seasoning. However, I used the sea salt in the water and added the rest of the seasoning while mashing the potatoes. Then added more salt to taste and a little more cream as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Nice! Different and tasty. Served with Cheeseburger Meatloaf from this site. Also used fat free 1/2 and 1/2. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Absolutely amazing I didn't have any heavy cream so I use half and half and it was perfect. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
great idea the only thing i ever did was salt and sometimes 1-2 fresh cloves of garlic but mash them for more potatoe flavor whipping breaks down the being of the potatoe too too much it is more akin to wallpaper paste then potatoes when whipped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I haven't tried this recipe, but I add chicken or beef (depending on what I am cooking) bouilon to the water and potatoes while they are cooking. No need for salt but I do add pepper and butter when mashing. My 8yr old loves them and always asks for 2nds. I'm rating this a 3 since I haven't tried it but I'm sure it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I think this is a good start, but there are ways to make this so much better for you and still have good taste. If you substitute reduced fat sour cream for the heavy cream, and a good quality margerine ( I use canola harvest marg. It tastes very close to butter )it will taste fabulous w/o all the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
These were very good. I used margarine and kept everything as written. Next time I will use milk or half and half instead of heavy cream just to make the dish a little healthier. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I love these potatoes for the ease of making a tasty mashed tater. I use all the seasonings as stated, but used less butter and milk instead of cream. These are very tasty. My whole family likes them better than the regular ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5galsandadad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States