Dark and Moist Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Changed this up a bit....drew the water out of zuccini with salt as some suggested. changed apple sauce to 1/2 cup and added 1/4 cup plain nonfat yogurt. Still used1/4 cup oil. then I added lots of cinnmon, 1/2 tsp ginger and cloves. Fabulous and will try it next without the oil and increasing the yogurt .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legatokt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I have made this recipe many times. Our family loves it! I did add 1/2 t. of salt to the recipe for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I baked this for 30 minutes more than what the recipe called for and it was still raw on the inside. I am bummed because it smelled really good! Will not make this again. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly, except I made muffins. They are really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I was excited about this recipe because I love zucchini bread and was looking for a healthier variation. I have to admit the flavor was good, even without nuts or vanilla (which I didn't have on hand). However, even after baking for over an hour, the loaves sank and I found they were still partially raw inside. Guess my toothpick wasn't long enough! There was still enough "baked" in one loaf for me to enjoy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This recipe reminded me of when I was dieting and was making food that had low or no fat in it. Even if it wasn't that good you ate it anyway because it was low in fat and it was sweet. The bread was heavy and rubbery looking. The taste was bland. I think if you added some salt(maybe about 1/2 tsp.) and more oil and maybe less applesauce you may have a better tasteing bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMLOISPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This is the best zucchini bread recipe I have tried. We all liked the honey/molasses flavour, and the lightness. I have made it with currants, dried cranberries, walnuts, and pecans - a different addition each time. I keep a jar of applesauce on hand in the cupboard, and freeze the remainder once it's opened. I use the fine grater attachment on my food processor to get fine strands of zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
My very first attempt at Zucchini bread and it was a big hit. My family and co-workers raved about it. Several asked for the recipe. My 1 yr old grandaughter can't seem to eat enough !! Great recipe, easy, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
My family loves zucchini bread, but not this one. Ususally like molasses, but this recipe was really heavy, and had no flavor. Threw out the 2nd loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I made this for my office and the two loaves were gone in minutes. I used light molasses so it was not overpowering and because I did not have plain applesauce I used chunky which actually gave it a little more texture. I used the process of Dejourger (draw out water) learned in a recipe from this site for "abby's Zuc bread" that process really made this recipe light. This was delicious and a real recipe keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States