Dark Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Fantastic recipe. I was very happy that I got a nice rise, which can be very hard when using rye or whole wheat flour. The second time I made it, I added chopped fresh dill and a tsp. of minced garlic. Wonderful. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I made this exactly as suggested, with the exception of using fresh whey instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Came out perfect. Even my finicky 5 year old grandson liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Sears

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This bread was nothing that I would call rye bread. It was more like a sweet brown bread of some sort. I will not be making this again. I made it for reubens and we were sorely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I was looking for a rye bread on which to make cucumber sandwiches and I really like this one. I started it in the bread maker on the dough cycle then put it in a pan to rise a bit before baking it. I baked it at 375 as one reviewer suggested. I used a mini loaf pan and baked for 30 mins. The only thing I did differently after making the first loaf was add more caraway seeds because they are so scrumptious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Lovely bread! Made as written and gone before it even was completely cold! The cocoa powder is a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This bread was amazing! I chose to make it by hand and had to add about another 1/8 cup of water to get the dough to work. All I had was bead molasses so I cut the sugar down to 1.5 tbsps. We LOVE caraway so I did 4 tsps. I formed a round rustic loaf and cut slashes in the top. My husband and I ate half the round for dinner with a cabbage/lentil/ham based soup and it was delicious. It took about an hour to rise. I sat the pan on a cooling rack atop my toaster oven while baking something else. I baked it at 375 for 50 minutes. If making by hand proofing your yeast with the sugar, molasses and WARM water is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was WAY too sweet. It was also very dense. It did not raise properly despite using good yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasonFromCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Byers, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Awesome Bread,goes well with my sauerkraut soup... Very easy to make and the testure is awesome...Moist yet firm. I used some fresh dill seeds in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I've declared this a fail-proof recipe! I don't have a bread machine so I made this by hand. Yeast and I have never been great friends, and I thought I failed after my dough didn't really rise after an hour...however, during the second rising, it came to life to produce delicious bread! Only 4 stars because it was a little sweeter than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States