Dark Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Great bread! I don't have a bread machine, so I did the following: 1.) Let the yeast “bloom” in 115 degree water, then added the yeast/water mix and molasses & oil to the dry ingredients, kneading for about five minutes in my KitchenAid. 2.) I made a "rustic loaf" by forming the dough into an oval on a cookie sheet (oiled and sprinkled with cornmeal) and let rise for about an hour. 3.) Baked it at 375 for 40 min and it came out perfect. It looked pretty with some slashes and an egg wash to make it shiny, and it tastes great! Wish I had had some caraway seeds to add, but I will buy some before I make this again as I'm sure the bread would only be better with their addition. Thanks for the recipe - I'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Yum. Good stuff. I try to be helpful in my reviews, and for this recipe, the most helpful thing I can say is: make this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
This indeed was a great recipe! So very flavorful! I didn't have rye flour so I substitued the same amount of whole wheat flour, even added the caraway seeds and it just turned out incredibly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I added slightly more water, about 1/3 cup more. And used butter instead of the vegetable oil( was all out of the oil) but it tasted great. Made a nice big freeform loaf. Not to light but not really overly dense either. Will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Oh...my....GOD! The smell of this bread baking in my breadmaker woke me up out of a deep sleep and I actually got out of bed! It took me a minute or two to realise it was like 4 am and though the smell was awesome, I should probably consider sleeping more before eating it :P Seriously though, it has a rich rich taste, great toasted with peanut butter and for sandwiches. I made mine on the medium crust setting and it was a little tough on the outside, this time I'm doing it on the light crust. Also I have a hard time digesting refined flour so I put 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all purpose. DEFINATELY worth a try to all of you rye junkies out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This bread was GREAT. Had a great flavor. I did add more caraway seed though. Can hardly wait to Make Rubens with it. SHYPURPLE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by UHlissUH
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
this bread is soooo simple and delicious tasting, especially right out of the oven with a little butter. i make this exaclt recipe several times a week. i followed a past reviewers directions for what to do with the bread when not using a bred machine (the cheaters way)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UHlissUH

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
The flavor of this bread was really good, I think it was my foul-up and didn't have the crust setting right on the machine or something, but the crust was hard and I didn't care for that part. This was the first loaf of bread that I have ever cooked and the recipe was completely simple to follow. I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Came out pretty good, did exactly what instructions said, had a strong hearty rye flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oddball8945

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Very good bread. I used whole wheat flour instead of white and I increased the caraway seed to 1 tsp. I don't have a bread machine, so I kneaded it in my Kitchen Aid mixer. I ended up having to add an extra 1/4 cup of flour, as the dough was a little too wet. I will try cutting the water to one cup next time. I let it rise for one hour then punched down and put in a 9X5 loaf pan. I let it rise another 45 minutes and then baked at 375 for 45 minutes. Next time I would use an 8X4 loaf pan for a taller loaf. I will certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States