Dark Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This bread was GREAT. Had a great flavor. I did add more caraway seed though. Can hardly wait to Make Rubens with it. SHYPURPLE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Wow! This is wonderful! My husband's favorite bread is Roman Meal, and this tastes almost exactly like it; very soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Musictchr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
This indeed was a great recipe! So very flavorful! I didn't have rye flour so I substitued the same amount of whole wheat flour, even added the caraway seeds and it just turned out incredibly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Yum. Good stuff. I try to be helpful in my reviews, and for this recipe, the most helpful thing I can say is: make this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This is a very good dark rye bread. Family was surprised that is wasnt bakery/store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOIKFAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Absolutely great bread!! I didn't add the caraway seeds cause my family doesn't like them. Still turned out very flavourful. I am really impressed with how well this bread turned out in the breadmaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This has very good flavor. My only complaint is that it didn't rise as much as I had hoped. I don't know if this was due to my machine or the recipe. I think I will try it again and see if I have the same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by way2buzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Came out pretty good, did exactly what instructions said, had a strong hearty rye flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oddball8945

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Totally WONDERFUL! Nice, dense. I added slightly more caraway seed. A must "do-over."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Great bread! I don't have a bread machine, so I did the following: 1.) Let the yeast “bloom” in 115 degree water, then added the yeast/water mix and molasses & oil to the dry ingredients, kneading for about five minutes in my KitchenAid. 2.) I made a "rustic loaf" by forming the dough into an oval on a cookie sheet (oiled and sprinkled with cornmeal) and let rise for about an hour. 3.) Baked it at 375 for 40 min and it came out perfect. It looked pretty with some slashes and an egg wash to make it shiny, and it tastes great! Wish I had had some caraway seeds to add, but I will buy some before I make this again as I'm sure the bread would only be better with their addition. Thanks for the recipe - I'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States