Dark Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Used Dough cycle on the bread machine, because I wanted to make two small loaves of rye bread for appetizers. The dough seemed quite dense when I removed it from the bread pan, but the 2 loaves turned out great and the flavor is exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ken
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Like a heavy dark rye - made it as one large round loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This bread is MARVELOUS! I live above 5000 feet, so I reduced the yeast to 1 1/8 teaspoon, and added an extra 1/8 teaspoon of salt. I also tend to get very thick bread using all-purpose flour, so I chose to use bread flour instead. The end result was a PERFECT rise, with a light, fluffy loaf full of flavor! My picky fiance is hooked and declaired this is new "favorite"! Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyCooks4Dallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Good bread. Nice and dense. I used whole wheat flour in place of the all purpose flour, used more syrup in place of the brown sugar, and omitted the caraway seeds because I didn't have any. I thought the bread a bit too sweet, and would perhaps half the second portion of brown sugar/syrup in the future. If not enough liquid, add a tablespoon of water when mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Came out sweet. Not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
The flavor of this bread was really good, I think it was my foul-up and didn't have the crust setting right on the machine or something, but the crust was hard and I didn't care for that part. This was the first loaf of bread that I have ever cooked and the recipe was completely simple to follow. I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
LOVED IT!! I followed the others adivce and doubled the caraway seeds. Easy to make and wonderful to eat warm out of the oven with butter...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I did the recipe by hand, worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRASH5456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Didn't like it as much as another rye bread recipe. I find this a tad bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Excellent, I've been looking for a good rye bread recipe, and have found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States