Dark Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Oh...my....GOD! The smell of this bread baking in my breadmaker woke me up out of a deep sleep and I actually got out of bed! It took me a minute or two to realise it was like 4 am and though the smell was awesome, I should probably consider sleeping more before eating it :P Seriously though, it has a rich rich taste, great toasted with peanut butter and for sandwiches. I made mine on the medium crust setting and it was a little tough on the outside, this time I'm doing it on the light crust. Also I have a hard time digesting refined flour so I put 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all purpose. DEFINATELY worth a try to all of you rye junkies out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My family loved it! I did not alter the recipe one bit. I am not a huge "rye" bread fan but this was the perfect amount of rye for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Charles Town, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Interesting recipe! I don't have a bread machine so I followed the suggestions of another reviewer. The yeast bloomed nicely and I mixed the dough in my Kitchen-Aide for 5 mins. It sat for an hour under a damp towel in my kitchen and rose nicely. I increased the amount of caraway seeds and coated the bread with an eggwash before baking. Also sprinkled caraway seeds on top. Baked at 375 for 40 mins and it turned out just fine. Next time I might leave the molasses out if I can..I prefer a lighter rye. This one was a little too close to pumpernickel for me. But overall a nice simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Loved the taste, but as another reviewer stated, the crust got really hard the next couple days. My machine dosen't have a crust setting, so will try coating with some butter while still warm next time, and storing in a large ziplock bag. This seems to help when I make white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I used slightly less flour and made by hand. I baked it at 375 for about 23 minutes and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made it on the dough cycle and baked it on a stone. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Yummy! I tripled the recipe so that I could have extra bread to freeze; I was uneasy to triple a recipe I'd ever tried before, but I'm definitely not regretting it! I omitted the molasses and caraway seed, and replaced the cocoa powder with carob powder. I didn't use a bread machine but it turned out fantastic anyway! I'm going to go make a second batch now - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
The only adjustment I made was to use potato water (leftover from draining cooked potatoes) for the plain water. Made a loaf & took it to a church brunch yesterday without even tasting it first. It disappeared so fast I almost didn't get a slice. I was concerned that it would be too sweet, but it was just right. The sugar seemed to heighten the other flavors. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattycake
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I made this twice, once with a loaf pan and another time using the bread machine. On both occassions, I found the dough was a little sticky because I had subtituted molasses for honey. After the first rise, it's hard to get it to form a smooth tight surface for the second proving. The finished bread had a somewhat irregular surface. Nonetheless the taste and texture was excellent. Toast the slices and serve with fresh butter. Makes a perfect breakfast. Then, for the third try, I got some molasses and the result was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is the best rye bread I have ever eaten. I baked it without a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States