Dark Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Yummy! I tripled the recipe so that I could have extra bread to freeze; I was uneasy to triple a recipe I'd ever tried before, but I'm definitely not regretting it! I omitted the molasses and caraway seed, and replaced the cocoa powder with carob powder. I didn't use a bread machine but it turned out fantastic anyway! I'm going to go make a second batch now - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
The only adjustment I made was to use potato water (leftover from draining cooked potatoes) for the plain water. Made a loaf & took it to a church brunch yesterday without even tasting it first. It disappeared so fast I almost didn't get a slice. I was concerned that it would be too sweet, but it was just right. The sugar seemed to heighten the other flavors. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattycake
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I made this twice, once with a loaf pan and another time using the bread machine. On both occassions, I found the dough was a little sticky because I had subtituted molasses for honey. After the first rise, it's hard to get it to form a smooth tight surface for the second proving. The finished bread had a somewhat irregular surface. Nonetheless the taste and texture was excellent. Toast the slices and serve with fresh butter. Makes a perfect breakfast. Then, for the third try, I got some molasses and the result was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is the best rye bread I have ever eaten. I baked it without a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by whodunitrdr
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Very good flavor and texture. I left out the caraway seeds (personal preference) and did the dough in the bread machine. I formed the dough into a free form loaf on a cookie sheet and baked it at 350 for about 25 minutes after the second rise. Better than a lot of the store bought rye breads I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whodunitrdr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Used Dough cycle on the bread machine, because I wanted to make two small loaves of rye bread for appetizers. The dough seemed quite dense when I removed it from the bread pan, but the 2 loaves turned out great and the flavor is exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ken
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Like a heavy dark rye - made it as one large round loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This bread is MARVELOUS! I live above 5000 feet, so I reduced the yeast to 1 1/8 teaspoon, and added an extra 1/8 teaspoon of salt. I also tend to get very thick bread using all-purpose flour, so I chose to use bread flour instead. The end result was a PERFECT rise, with a light, fluffy loaf full of flavor! My picky fiance is hooked and declaired this is new "favorite"! Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyCooks4Dallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Good bread. Nice and dense. I used whole wheat flour in place of the all purpose flour, used more syrup in place of the brown sugar, and omitted the caraway seeds because I didn't have any. I thought the bread a bit too sweet, and would perhaps half the second portion of brown sugar/syrup in the future. If not enough liquid, add a tablespoon of water when mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Came out sweet. Not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States